We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodated my needs, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Maritime Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Accommodated my needs, but...”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were having a reunion over Labor Day and due to an injury I was unable to stay at our family place and chose the Best Western only because other family members from out of town were staying there, otherwise I would have chosen something closer and cheaper. It was about $140.00 a night and I did put in a request for a "handicap" (dislike that term) room. We were given a room located near one of the entrances with no stairs (+), the bathroom door was extra wide (+) and the the tub was one you could wheel into or use the chair that they provided (+). The biggest and most disappointing factor, almost one hard to believe in this day and age, is that there was no refrigerator. Seriously dorm frigs are not that expensive! Other factor was that our window faced the bank drive through a very short distance from the hotel ... I could see them and they could see me so not so private. My husband also told the maid on the first day (we stayed 3) not to touch our room until we left. A little later, to make sure, he stated to someone who he believed to be a manager, "just so you know the maids don't need to touch our room until we are gone." The woman, rudely, turned to him and said, "I don't communicate with THOSE people." I guess if you are wearing white pants and a green shirt, you might be a manager or not, but yet, we shouldn't get that response NO MATTER WHAT!

The employees didn't hesitate to talk about each other too - one employee found out we were related to another "former" employee and with that she didn't have much good to say about her - really? It isn't our place to know such things and employees shouldn't be bashing other employees to customers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhundt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    169
    77
    27
    11
See reviews for
180
165
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good:
Warm front desk person. Everyone whom I met was very welcoming.

Bad:
Not all rooms have mini-fridge and so I requested a room with fridge by calling after making the reservation. This information was lost when we arrive at the hotel. We did however manage to get a room with a fridge but the room was not ready immediately.

The room was neat, beds were clean and comfy but the room needs maintenance. The veneer from bed was stripping, caulk in bathroom was brown and coming off. The stopped in the tub was not working at all and so shower was the only option.

The breakfast area was not well equipped; there was only one pancake station and making the pancake takes 3 minutes; this resulted in a long line. Same thing around the toaster area. There was a limited choice with no change in menu. Other things were low at times but were very quickly refilled.

There is no elevator in the hotel but luckily the hotel has only 2 levels.

Overall:
This was a nice place and I would not mind staying here again. The location is good and there are many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanchfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in Door County. It is well within reach of attractions. The hotel staff are great and responded to our concerns. The internet site and confirmation promised a refrigerator and microwave but the staff said that they had not yet been able to put them in all of the rooms. They did get this corrected the next day so they were quite responsive to our needs. Although there were a lot of people staying there just before Labor Day, the room was very quiet. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gordon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were going to Door County but didn't have a lot of days to spend. Couldn't find any B&B or hotel that would let us stay just one night. This motel did and it was great. They had a clean, comfortable room with WiFi, great TVs and cable, a nice bathroom, and comfortable beds. The breakfast was huge and excellent. It was close to shopping and restaurants. There is a race track next door that runs on Sat nights but they shut down promptly at 9pm. No problem. The room was clean, had a frig and microwave and everything worked. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. We will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was just an average hotel, nothing special. The carpet in the rooms, hallways, lobby and breakfast area was dated and appeared dirty. There isn't an exercise room, but there is an indoor pool and whirlpool, which we didn't use. The front desk staff wasn't very friendly or welcoming. The breakfast left a lot to be desired. The hot breakfast, with the exception of make your own waffles, was served every other day. Yogurt and oatmeal were served on the other days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomah, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Best Western Maritime Inn provided our group with a clean, quiet and economical place to stay. The breakfast served in the hotel was delicious and provided everyone with the fuel needed to have a great day. We had a pet room and that gave us peace of mind as we were able to bring our puppy along on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is just an average pricy hotel with minimal facilities and no elevators. The staff at the front desk was not helpful when I had asked about nearby attractions. However, it is located in a good area - there are some decent restaurants in walking distance from hotel. The room is old and requires some makeover. If you are looking to visit Door county , better look for something near the attractions, because with staying at this hotel - you would end up driving quite a bit for most of the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshbay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
15.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
225 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
297 reviews
14.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Maritime Inn

Property: Best Western Maritime Inn
Address: 1001 N 14th Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Maritime Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maritime Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Best Western Sturgeon Bay
Sturgeon Bay Best Western
Best Western Maritime Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing