We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Door County”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Maritime Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Door County”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good, older motel. No elevator. Excellent location to enjoy Door County. Room very clean. Breakfast standard motel breakfast. Did not hear any outside noise at any time. Very popular location. Saw one tour bus. Paper available at desk. Bill not delivered to room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 376lucienv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    156
    74
    26
    11
See reviews for
170
150
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is, as many reviewers have noted, is outdated. We checked in at 3:00 PM (check-in time), and the desk clerk said, "Let me check to see if your room is ready." There is no reason for a room to not be ready at 3:00 PM on a Wednesday: perhaps they are understaffed? Luckily the room was ready.

Our room was clean, breakfast was basic, service was adequate. Best feature is a generously sized breakfast room. As my husband said, for one night it served our purpose as we traveled through Door County.

Room Tip: No elevator. Specify room on first floor if accessibility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Peninsula
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were told that we got the last room through our reservation and would be given the handicapped one since there were no requests for it. We expected a nursing home environment but the only noticeable difference was the seating bench next to the tub. So, no biggie there.

Overall, it was a very good experience considering it was a packed house and one ice machine broke down the next morning. The hallways were quiet, people were respectful to each other, families with small children must have been kept in an area together because we did not encounter any, and the continental breakfast went without a hitch as the older woman restocking the counter was hustling. Plus, all personnel we interacted with were very polite and helpful.

On the negative side, the management should consider replacing the mattresses soon because they are starting to get a bit lumpy. The curtain in our room would not close completely but the desk gave us two bulldog clips which solved the problem and I observed the desk clerk make an entry for maintenance to handle.

In conclusion, especially for Door County where thousands of tourists come and go, the management was very good and the hiring policy seems to be effective.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hallway are quieter. Be aware that it is a two story without elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rally4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILlinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arrived before check-in time and room wasn't ready. So, signed in and went to visit friends. Came back at 8 pm only to find that the room we were assigned hadn't been cleaned. Bed was unmade, towels on floor, wastebasket full. Person on duty said that we would have to take another room on the 2nd floor. That would have been fine except that there is no elevator and I am suffering from severe osteoarthritis of the knee and have trouble with stairs (the equivalent of two flights at this hotel) Very inconvenient and painful for me. Wanted to ask for a discount for the hassle of it all but my husband didn't want to argue. I may write a complaint directly to the manager soon. It certainly put a damper on our visit to Door County.

Room Tip: Get a 1st floor room if you have any trouble with stairs. No elevator here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illinoistraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

No fridge and no thermostate for the AC unit. Overall the hotel was not bad, but it is a very old. They need to change the carpet all over the hotel. The AC units need to have tempreture control. The staff people were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nidal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is an old motel in the heart of Door County. Nothing fancy. I think it is a great location to stay at if you are seeing all of Door County. You are 50 miles from the tip of the County and 50 miles from Green Bay. The place is old but is well maintained for being that old. If you want something nicer, go to one of the B&Bs and spent 2 to 3 times more. The breakfast is your standard Best Western meal. They have a nice pool and a staff that is very friendly.

Room Tip: The pool and breakfast area can be noise so if you want quiet - get a room on the another end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in June and had a great stay. We spent two days biking in the area and used this hotel as our base. The rooms were comfortable and ours included a microwave and refridgerator. Having the fridge was very nice as we were able to store our drinks and water bottles in it overnight. The breakfast was what you would expect for a Best Western. The Belgian Waffle maker was having problems and so was the waffle batter. So we skipped the waffles. We used the pool once and it was refreshing. Would we stay here again? Sure we would. The restaurant across the street is a must eat at place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
14.5 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
23.5 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
20.3 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Maritime Inn

Property: Best Western Maritime Inn
Address: 1001 N 14th Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Maritime Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maritime Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Best Western Sturgeon Bay
Sturgeon Bay Best Western
Best Western Maritime Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing