We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifties Redux at a Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fifties Redux at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed for three nights as a base on our first trip to Door County and believe I found a gem. In searching internet hoping for "tweener season" (between summer sun and fall foliage) vacancies, I found Holiday Hotel as one of the few with availability at very reasonable rates for two rooms. While not luxurious it was very comfortable and clean, a real value for the price. While the nearby "steel bridge" landmark was under construction and there were no music events scheduled during my visit, we found location to work well both as to walks to a variety of good restaurants and museums in Sturgeon Bay and easy day drives to all points of Door County. Nice new LCD TVs and free wifi in room, which is good since the only real "public space" is the small but funky fun breakfast nook (which served a minimal continental breakfast) and a half-lobby off check-in desk. One nitpick: no coffee machine in room, and had to wait until 7 am for coffee when breakfast nook opened. Still, a very fun place to stay given Fifties motif and friendly staff, and priced below other traditional motels of higher "star" ranking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meandering_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    109
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
73
211
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
viroqua
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Staff was friendly and helpful. My room was the best of 2 worlds:, 1950s desk, lamp, chair, curtains, picture on wall; modern bed and bathroom. Room had a frig, and there was a microwave I could use in the breakfast diner. My room window opened. Recylcing and trash containers in room and heat/air with modern thermostat. Downtown location meant I could walk to food and situated by the river gave me scenic setting, yet it was quiet at night. I liked best that the motel has a theme tastefully realized. It is not sterile. Its size is human scale. What I liked least? Hauling all my work stuff in! Hmm, could the desk clerk have helped?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contentViroqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Holiday Motel and was really surprised at how nice it was for the money. We just needed a place to sleep for the night and didnt need all the thrills and frills that come with the hotels and b&b's. This place is very clean. Nice staff. Traffic noise was to much to let us leave the window open. Glad we picked this motel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela4997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My boyfriend and I were looking to "get away" for just a night, and everywhere else in Door County was booked! I came across this hotel on the back of a receipt, and I decided to check it out. The picture online weren't encouraging (it looked like it was 100 years old!), but the reviews were spectacular so we decided we'd give it a try (you can NOT beat the price in that area).

We were pleasantly surprised! My biggest fear with an older hotel was that it would smell awkward; that was not the case at all. It smells new, but has an older feel to the building (which makes sense). The employees are very friendly, the little diner is adorable, and it doesn't hurt that they have salt water taffy in the lobby. Plus, it's right across the street from Stone Harbor resort, so we headed over there for a drink! (Too bad we had already eaten, because their restaurant looks nice).

I will say that the walls are a bit thin, but not too distracting. Had a great time!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JitterBug589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I found this place absolutely charming, although it may not be everybody's cup of tea. It was the first motel in Door County, established in 1952, and was recently bought by a bunch of musicians and friends and refurbished in 50s style. Not surprisingly, most of the patrons I saw were baby boomers (like me) saying "Oh, this is so cute! Oh, I remember these!" Loving restoration, although not completely faithful (i.e. they have flat screen TVs, not old Philcos, and mini-fridges). But lots of great light fixtures, furniture, drapery fabrics, etc. The room was very comfortable and functional. Good bed, pillowtop I think. Decently thick towels. Bathroom, with its retro sink, lacked surfaces to put stuff on. The continental breakfast was basic, nothing special. It's served in "the diner," a very cute but kind of cramped area where people were tripping over each other to get to the coffee and the toaster. Motel is a short walk from excellent restaurants. I found it amusing that it's right across the street from the modern, bland, luxurious gigantic hotel/conference center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We loved the retro feel of this hotel. Retro did not mean old and musty. It was very clean, new and fresh. The staff was very helpful in getting us a good vantage point to see the Tall Ships when they came into Sturgeon Bay. Nice website with the interesting history of the motel. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chippewabluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiquiChiqui
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Would definately stay here again! The location is perfect and all of the staff was friendly, helpful, and accomodating!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiquiChiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
474 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
757 reviews
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Property: Holiday Music Motel
Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Holiday Music Motel Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing