We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Joy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 18, 2013

After looking online my wife and I decided to go the Holiday Music Hotel. It was exactly what we hoped it would be. It was like a blast from the past. Rooms are very small by modern standards but a flash back to our childhoods. We were are in out 50s. Fun place, very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglass J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 448 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Some people have a cabin in Door County...we just stay at the Holiday Music Motel. Located right in Downtown Sturgeon Bay, the motel is within walking distance to cute shops and good restaurants. The beds in the motel are new and comfortable, the rooms we've had were quiet, and there is always staff on duty to take care of things. They make it fun to stay there, though perhaps not so much fun for children since the motel is dedicated to rock music. This is actually a positive for us!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms may be larger than the first floor, but pets are only allowed in the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is so charming and retro, a blast from the past! The rooms were nice, coffee anytime and just enough at the breakfast in the morning! The staff is very friendly and recommended a great place to eat. I'd stay there again whenever in the area!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landonWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent 3 days in this Motel and I would suggest it without any doubt.
The real service is more valuable than the cost, he room is very comfortable, clean and quite. We were there in winter and we stayed very warm. The breakfast was good and everything you need is provided kindly and quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosaria964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a very nice property, retro and unpretentious, right in the middle of town, very clean, good prices. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful--they went out of their to answer questions and help us out. I would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slsl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

From the metal dressers to the pink tile in the bathrooms, to the fabric of the curtains, the Holiday Music Motel is a real trip (to the 50s). The location is the best, right downtown in Sturgeon Bay. The staff (who are mostly musicians) are friendly and helpful. They even offered us dinner! The roms are small, but it is a 1950s motel, but clean and the beds were comfy. And if you're allergic to feathers the rooms have both feather and foam pillows. We're already planning on staying there again. They even have music some nights.

Room Tip: Every room is different, but the rooms on the second floor seem to generally be larger. This is a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Music Motel for one night while visiting Door County. Our check in was quick and easy, our room was clean and the bed was comfy (we loved the 50's decor), nice to have a fridge in the room, just around the corner from some shops and restaurants, a block from the Steel Bridge, the continental breakfast was a plus and the staff was friendly and helpful.

The best part of our stay was the "Writer's Night" Open Mic they had from 7-9 (Thursday). We heard some great musicians with their original songs and listened to some wonderful poets. We will come back and stay again. If you are in the neighborhood on a Thursday night I highly recommend you stop in for the Writer's Night Open Mic.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mcmarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
535 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
331 reviews
24.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $53 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Holiday Music Motel Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing