We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peru, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I thought this would be kind of a fun place to stay but was really surprised at how small the room was. The bathroom could have been cleaned better. Hair in the tub and somebodies pill laying on the bathroom floor. Otherwise it was ok and we only were there to sleep. Have to say that the 50's decor was kind of neat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtimes58_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHolidayMotel, Manager at Holiday Music Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are truly sorry that your stay didn't measure up to your expectations! We're so glad that you did ultimately enjoy your stay but truly upset that you did not find your bathroom properly cleaned! Hair in the tub and a pill on the floor is inexcusable and I assure you that is NOT the norm here! Rooms are regularly double checked by housekeeping staff and then triple checked by our front desk before anyone is checked into the room. I can't imagine how this one slipped by us! We are steadfast about our cleanliness and strive to have every room immaculately cleaned for all of our guests. We will be discussing this with our housekeeping staff to make sure this never happens again! Again, our apologies. We hope you'll give us a try at another date. ~~ melaniejane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    104
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
73
204
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Folks must remember that king and queen size beds were nonexistent back in the '50s, but this was no problem as my wife & I are small. From that era of mechanical gadgets we had a push button soap,shampoo and conditioner dispenser along with an automatic light in the bath. We were teens back in those days and recommend that those under 50 or so to visit this unique hostelry while visiting in Door County. A real neat place,one short block from the main street of town! Wish I had a pink and black '56 Ford Starliner for the next trip there!

Room Tip: Retro size room was fine for two nights.
See more room tips
Green Features: We always applaud and support environmentally friendly practices and expect these in top notch accommodations like the Holiday Music.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorr58134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHolidayMotel, Manager at Holiday Music Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! For others out there reading this, I want to clarify that the majority of our rooms have queen-sized beds (we also have two rooms with king-size beds.) The room you stayed in--the "Historic" room (121)--had 2 full size beds so next time let us know if you'd prefer something bigger. We're SO happy that you loved the retro decor! and if you ever get that pink and black '56 Ford Starliner, come on back up! We'd love to take a photo of it in by our neon sign!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not what I expected when I hear the word Motel, especially not a chain; but was overly pleasantly surprised. Fun decor throughout the property and very comfortable beds and reasonably priced for high season. Definately recommend this gem of a motel!

Room Tip: Second floor, probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brilynn1979
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Fun stay at a very retro motel. Check in was a breeze with real keys. Loved the metallic tree in the lobby. Our room was clean and comfortable. Liked the green aspect of the hotel. Continental breakfast in the 1950's style kitchen was fun. Not our typical place, but I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brilynn1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this motel for three nights over the 4th of July weekend. All of the reviews are right on. The people that work there are super friendly, the rooms are very cute and retro, and the beds are comfortable. I would stay again in a heart beat and certainly plan on returning next summer. Cons: blackout curtains do not close all the way...so, pointless. Maid service does not wipe out sink or bathtub, also left obvious garbage sitting out (plastic ring from a 6 pack). Additionally the continental breakfast was slightly disappointing, it can be improved by adding a protein- yogurt or hard boiled eggs. Currently only peanut butter and cream cheese.
I am only nitpicking in case management cares to improve. This was a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHolidayMotel, Manager at Holiday Music Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for your very honest and thoughtful review! We truly appreciate input from our guests with suggestions on to how to improve upon things here at The Holiday!

When guests check in, the staff is instructed to emphasize to let us know anytime day or night if there's anything we can to do make your stay more comfortable. We say this because we mean this. Had we known your curtains weren't closing all the way, we would have made sure it was fixed immediately. It's important to us that our blackout curtains are working properly (being musicians, we probably understand the importance of this better than most). We will make a special point of checking all curtains to make sure they are closing properly (if you could let us now what room you were in, that would be very helpful).

As far as the sink and the tub you mentioned (and this, of course, you are talking about the days that you stayed over, not when you initially checked in), if there are personal items left on the tub or sink, it's sometimes hard to tell if the guest wants it done or not but I do think that we should err on the side of doing it than not. Here, too, had we known this hadn't been done to your liking, it would have been rectified immediately. I will draw our housekeeping staff's attention to this so we can do better for all of our guests in the future. Thank you so much for your input. This helps us to know better how our guests are thinking and what they'd like to see.

I agree that we should add another protein to our breakfast. We have offered this in the past and will definitely offer this again effective immediately. And, just so you know, we care so much about providing a good experience for our guests, I would have gladly made a batch of eggs for you! :)

In any case, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we'll be seeing you again sometime!

Thank you, again, for your compliments and for your suggestions on how to improve.

Next time, there will be eggs!

~melaniejane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our 1st time to Sturgeon Bay, great hotel, knowledgeable staff. We were given many suggestions for dinner and they were fabulous. Also the location of this place is great, you can walk to so many place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica021205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Did a one night family stay here. Totally retro with lots of instruments for both kids and adults to play in the lobby. The staff is so nice and friendly. Helped us find an awesome restaurant - 136. Continental breakfast in a 1950's dining area. Rooms were nice. All the furnishings are from the 1950's. Comfortable beds. At night they had fire pits going out front with adirondack chairs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
24.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Property: Holiday Music Motel
Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Holiday Music Motel Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing