We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro with a purpose!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Space Coast, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Retro with a purpose!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent a great weekend up in Door County using the Holiday Music Motel as "Home Base" Glad I picked it! Remember seeing all those old travel post cards from the '50's and early '60's? This place just popped out of one!! Clean, Funky, Retro Fun! I love the original, retro dining area and all of the original furnishing! Super clean , comfy AND pet friendly! The Motel also has a full recording studio upstairs and is the headquarters motel for the annual Steel Bridge Music Festival.
Pat and Melaniejane are not just friendly motel proprietors, they are gifted musicians! You have to check this place out!
Great location in that you can WALK to most of the shopping and such in Sturgeon Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vuk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    111
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
73
215
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights in late December. We loved the authentic, retro feel of this place - genuine but not overdone. CLEAN as can be, lovely linens and comfortable beds, Pat provided us with a bit on the history and renovation of the motel. We walked to a number of restaurants, all within a few blocks. Sturgeon Bay is a real community, not so touristy as the rest of Door co, and yet if you're looking for that type of thing it's just a short drive away. We love this place and will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms allow pets so we chose the second floor. Some rooms are on the small side. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lake, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a gem of an old motel. It looks like a place that has been frozen in time. I don't mean run down, hasn't been updated in 60 years, more like you just went back 60 years and the place just opened. Vintage stuff everywhere you look. 50's furniture in the rooms, 50's style tile in the bathrooms, pedestal sinks, vintage light fixtures, bath fixtures, everything. Very cool.

The bed has to be one of the most comfortable beds we have had anywhere. We were joking about how to roll up a king size mattress and tie it to the top of our compact car and take it with us. It was that good. This would also be probably the cleanest place we have been in. Not a speck of stuff, anywhere. No dust, no cobwebs, no gunk in the bathroom, totally spotless. Give your cleaning staff a raise.

And it's cheap! You have an awesome room, with an awesome location, and it's cheap! Sign me up for another stay!

Sorry to the rest of the Door County lodging folks, we found our place to stay when we visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravage7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Rooms were very and nice clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The motel is decorated to reflect the 50s. It was a very nice place to stay. I will recommend to all my friends. Great value and close to the downtown area. Very comfortable. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

If you are anywhere near this little gem......go now and treat yourself! What a gem of a place! I got the pleasure of getting to know lovely wonderful Melanie.....and if you are reading this, madame, I was the one who you introduced to Pat, the lead singer of TimBuk3! That seriously made my life! Anyway, this place has so much fun musical motif and history......the lobby alone is too much fun!!!! The whole place has a retro theme, and the rooms are just delightful! The bed is delicious, and a lovely continental breakfast spread (a la fun diner) that is laid out! Also you are right around the corner from many fun dining shopping options on 3rd Street! Thanks again all who are involved with the wonderful delightful Holiday Music Motel! And Melanie! You are the best! Please tell the gent from TimBuk3 I was delighted! If anyone is anywhere near this wonderful place, treat yourself to a great night there!!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavissav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Vernon IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I actually found this property on this site and was compelled by other reviews and pictures. We were in the town boat shopping and needed a basic room, comfortable, clean and convenient for one night only. We were not disappointed at all. Very retro, close to everything and comfortable. We loved the room, the staff, the location, the cleanliness (something I am so finicky about) and the location. I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone. If there is any complaint (and this is marginal and could happen anywhere) the lodgers in the room next to us came in late and noisy. I did not hear a thing, as I utilized the earplugs that were in the bedside table drawer, but my husband did, woke up and immediately put the earplugs in a s well (4 pkgs were supplied). What a great amenity and thoughtful consideration. I slept like a babe on the very comfortable bed, all night!

Room Tip: We stayed in a single King, midway on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just a winter night in Sturgeon Bay with the family. Wasn't at all sure what to expect. We absolutely loved the atmosphere and the staff was very pleasant and fun to talk with. The room was very clean. The beds very comfortable. The kids had a blast with the morning breakfast and the choices were great. We are temporarily living in a hotel right now that has morning breakfast with eggs and sausage every morning, but it isnt near as good as the choices you offered. We were pleasantly surprised to enjoy a different breakfast menu. We want to thank you for making us feel welcome and know we will be back and we will spread the word about what a great experience it was for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessKaiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
497 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Property: Holiday Music Motel
Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Holiday Music Motel Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing