We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Okay, so usually I'm more of a Hampton Inn type person, but based on other reviews, decided to give this place a shot as their rates were very reasonable. Wow..what a treat. Kind of a quirky offbeat place...loved the tinsel tree and instruments in the lobby..loved the clean and well-kept retro furniture. The bed was comfortable. The linens were fresh and clean, On our second day there, we came back from sight-seeing and the room was tidied up nicely. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The first night that we were there there was free musical entertainment which was very enjoyable...nice way to unwind after a long day of driving. I was worried about noise from pets and other patrons, but it was very quiet at night. The air conditioner made a bit of noise, but it worked well and didn't have to run long. Kitchenette was stocked with coffee and juice & milk and various breakfast items like cereal and oatmeal. Definitely, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zillymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 452 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

As a devoted Tripadvisor follower, I had to double-check when the Holiday Music Motel came so highly recommended! I'm not much of a motel type traveler and the low prices made me even more unsure! But I decided to go for it and surprise my husband. The only thing I told him about the place was that I wouldn't normally stay there and it only cost $55. That's when he said he didn't want to stay there! But we were so glad we did! We stayed on a Thursday night and were fortunate to be there during "open mic". We heard several good musicians, included Pat, which was a treat! The decor is so much fun! The place is clean and the beds are comfortable. Good job!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbsiewert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I feel very lucky to have found this place. I was doing a last minute search for motels that allow pets and this came up. I spoke with the Manager and arranged our stay. We loved it, the dogs loved it...what more could we ask! Very friendly and helpful staff. Great guests too. Had fun talking to the other guests in the lobby area. Everyone that we talked to really liked the place and had stayed before. I will be back again myself! Very clean, very organized, very comfortable and very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orbitsblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The rooms are very clean, and comfortable. The staff was AWESOME and the WiFi worked well in any room. I stayed at the Holiday for 3 week while working in Sturgeon Bay, and couldn't have been happier. If you want a clean comfortable place at a reasonable price, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you smoke, let them know when booking a room. They will try to put you close to an outside door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Totally recommend it! You are going to love it! The rooms are great, clean. Wonderful environment and vintage retro decor. Close to the shops and winery we are Absolutely coming back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aklemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I took a quick two day visit to the area and chose this motel based on the reviews and the price. Let's just say we were extremely impressed! The staff is great, the rooms are clean, cozy and we loved the fun decor. Great value and definitely a place we plan to visit again.

Room Tip: Nice option if you want to take your dog along.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We took an interest in the motel because of the novelty mix of music and a place to stay. Then, with the high reviews, we decided we needed to give it a try, and we were not disappointed.

Very clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. And retro did not mean worn-out. Lots of original furniture, but all appeared to be in good repair. Even enjoyed relaxing by picking up and playing a couple instruments sitting in the lounge area. The continental breakfast was good and sufficient. And the quaint dining area became a social hub.

For a small local operation, they have reached far beyond the local community. it looks like they found a way to make it all come together, and we hope to have an opportunity to return again.

Thank you!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beemts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
541 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
24.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel
#1 of 10 in Fish Creek
277 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $52 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Holiday Music Motel Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing