We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chef-run restaurant”

Trattoria Dal Santo
Ranked #16 of 85 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Chef-run restaurant”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stopped in Trattoria Dal Santo the night of the Christmas Tree Lighting, and were not disappointed. Our server was great, and provided descriptions of the nightly food and wine specials, and timed her stops by our table perfectly.

The chef does a great job in using traditional Italian ingredients in creative ways. We were in a small plates mood, so instead of entrees, we picked three appetizers to share and enjoyed some wine and Proscecco. Both the stuffed mushroom appetizer and the cheese pesto appetizer were great, with generous servings. The nightly special appetizer was mussels sauteed in wine, butter and garlic and caramelized onions and served with a really good sourdough baguette. Again, really generous serving (probably 2 dozen mussels) for a very reasonable price. For 3 glasses of wine, and three appetizers, our tab with tip barely edged over $50. For the creativity, portions and quality of ingredients, this is a great little gem in the heart of Sturgeon Bay.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    44
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Cuisine - Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great food. Reasonable prices. Very nice atmosphere. Varied menu selection and a variety of wines to choose from.

Helpful?
1 Thank eggychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Awesome staff!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food and service at Dal Santo's never disappoints! We had the special and the lasagna - both were delicious. Thank you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Italian food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Never knowing what to expect in a touristy little town, Trattoria DAL Santo, was better than I would have expected. It was early evening in October and the streets of Sturgeon Bay had already emptied for the night. No place on the main street in town had much business so "eating where the locals eat" wasn't going to work. Having a taste for Italian food, we stepped into a nice surprise. At first, the decor seems a bit underwhelming and unfinished, but as you settle in, it becomes charming. Our waitress, was prompt and eager to help us make some good choices for dinner. The beer-cheese soup sounds like something to eat at a bar watching the Packers, but it was lite and very good. The bread and salad was above average. Lasagna was rich, creamy and very filling. Pumpkin cheesecake was the recommended dessert and even though my wife doesn't care for pumpkin, we both loved it. Most wines were by the bottle not so many by the glass. Prices were reasonable and fair for food and drink. This could be a very nice outing for a group or a romantic one for two.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_lindemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than I had expected”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived and were seated immediately. We had a chicken Marsala and steamed mussels. Both were excellent, well prepared and presented. The wine was just right. Our server was efficient and friendly. We enjoyed a tiramisu for dessert. All told it was an excellent experience. We would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrGrummpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Dal Santo also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Trattoria Dal Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing