We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Harbor Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Danbury, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Getaway Weekend”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were just at the resort this past weekend and had a great time. The room was very nice and all the staff was very friendly. We had a great time on our getaway weekend. This was our first time there, but it won't be our last. We are already planning on another weekend again.

Room Tip: Visit during off season and you can get a great value on the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    92
    47
    26
    16
See reviews for
65
109
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here foe one night while on business. When we initially checked into our room in the late afternoon we heard a little dog barking in a neighboring room. Knowing thus could mean a sleepless night we asked the front desk to move us to another room, which they did immediately. The room was clean, decorated a little bit country. The bed was ok, not like my mattress at home but decent. A couple of complaints we have is the plumbing pipes between the walls is very loud. When our neighbors turned on their shower it was so loud my husband thought I had turned our shower. Thank goodness the neighbors were not early risers otherwise it would have awoken us. Another complaint was trying to find the right room temperature-when we first got there the room was very chilly we adjusted it and then it was too hot. The hotel has it's own bar with live entertainment. A lot of fun and just a short walk back to the room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wsunmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family has stayed at Stone Harbor many times but this is the first time I taking the time to write a review. Normally we stay in the 2-3 bedroom suites which normally has a large common area and kitchen. The rooms are large and clean. We try to get rooms with view of the lake. The restaurant serves some excellent food and the bar normally has a live band. With 2 little kids we always enjoy the indoor pool in summer or winter. Overall a resort with good location to all downtown shopping. Always enjoyed the service and stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

3 bedroom premium was perfect for our family. This is a great place and will stay here again. The beds are a little hard and pillows too small or old. None of this is a deal breaker and overall this place was better than expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I return to my home town every few years and always stay at this hotel. The location is great, 2 blocks from down town and several resturants to choose from. As the property is on the water there is always marine activity and a great place for sunsets. The rooms are great, some have fireplaces; beds are comfortable, rooms spotless and the staff is helpful. Weekends can be busy. Room rates are very reasonable, especially during mid week. This is a great business hotel.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can and upon arrival check for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Impromptu trip to Sturgeon Bay for work, and stayed at Stone Harbor when I found out they'd grant the government per diem lodging rate of $77/night. Here for two nights mid-week and the place seems pretty empty. I can imagine it getting a bit crowded for weddings or weekend activities, but this works fine for me as-is. My room is comfortable and clean. Bed is fine. Pillows are so-so (kinda cheap). Shower has great water pressure and plenty of hot water. I didn't eat in the restaurant, opting for a meal at the bar instead. Menu looked to have some good steak and seafood dishhes, but I opted for some very good tomato basil soup and a decent salad. Only disappointment is that there's no breakfast service available at the hotel, which is annoying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWRtheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After heading to Door County on a spur of the moment (we live about 2 hours away), we were disappointed to find many of the inns & bed & breakfasts either full, closed, or just very expensive so we went to the Stone Harbor to see if they had any rooms, and they were even having a special, $89 for a standard room or studio suite. They also had a band playing in the lounge and a costume party for Halloween! We took the studio suite - it has a full kitchen (full-sized stove/oven, microwave, refrigerator, dish washer, disposal, coffee maker & all dishes/cooking items you need) plus a murphy bed which folds into the wall if you need more room, table & 4 chairs, couch & side chair, and fireplace. The bed mattress is really quite comfortable for a pull-down bed, but the pillows are rather hard. I will bring our pillows from home next time. The Stone Harbor is very clean & nicely appointed, the grounds are beautiful, has a restaurant & bar and is just a block's walk from downtown Sturgeon Bay. It has a marina, so if you're boating you have "parking" capability! There are also horse & carriage rides, which take you around the town - very romantic & educational at the same time. I've seen weddings here - very nice setting, right on Lake Michigan. The staff's always friendly, service is great. My husband & I enjoy the cozy feeling of a bed & breakfast, but we always have a very nice time at Stone Harbor, any time of year.

Room Tip: The studio suite is an excellent value, and has a door to the adjoining room so a family could enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
459 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
203 reviews
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Harbor Resort

Property: Stone Harbor Resort
Address: 107 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2537
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Stone Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing