We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if in Sturgeon Bay!”
Review of 136 Restaurant & Wine Bar - CLOSED

136 Restaurant & Wine Bar
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A must if in Sturgeon Bay!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We did a family dinner here. Totally awesome dining experience. Child friendly dinner in a hip and eclectic place! We brought our 5 yr old sons and their 78 year old grandparents and there was something for everyone! Delicious food and yummy wine choices. Everything from a flatbread pizza to grilled halibut and blackened tenderloin. Wow!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    42
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delish!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a must go in Sturgeon Bay...Great wait staff and interesting menu. I had the Shrimp Tacos which were HUGE. Enough for two to share. My husband had the duck breast, which he loved and he doesn't often 'love' anything. We sat and drained a bottle of wine without feeling rushed out of the place. I only wish I would have had room for dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank orangesassycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trendy”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very good food, pricey but you get a good portion. Wine glass could be more fuller....Very neat decor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Outstanding cuisine in a contemporary setting. Relatively new with great service. Very happy with choice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunny116066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great addition to Sturgeon Bay restaurants”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My spouse and I traveled to Door County over Fathers' Day weekend, and our B&B host recommended 136. We're glad we followed her advice, because the meal was great, and the wait staff were excellent. Because we would have had to wait for inside seating, we chose to sit outside. Although it began to rain, the awning provided ample protection. Our server, Cassie, never made us feel hurried, and was very attentive during the meal, even though the restaurant was very busy.

The food was made from scratch and was delicious, and the serving sizes were not too large. Sharon Peterson, the owner, is a self-taught chef, which really appeals to us. She makes healthy, delicious food that is presented beautifully, but isn't ridiculously fancy. More to the point, both of us have some food sensitivities, and they made sure that our meals were "safe", even to the point of modifying one of the dishes on the menu.

We liked our dinner so well, that we stopped back for lunch on our way home. So, we had another great meal. My spouse ordered the crab cake sandwich and thought they tasted better than those he's enjoyed in Baltimore.

I could provide a lot more details, but hope this short review will encourage you to give 136 a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H1k1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 136 Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing