We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHEESE!”
Review of Renard's Cheese

Renard's Cheese
Ranked #1 of 20 Shopping in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CHEESE!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Huge selection of cheeses, although I was surprised to see imported ones too. Cheese tasting available and a great supply of cheese curds (never eaten them before) which were excellent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rudolphyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    41
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you're looking for good cheese, it can be found anywhere on the peninsula (or in Wisconsin for that matter). Almost every place on the peninsula sells some local cheese. This place does have a great selection, but the prices on everything are pretty insane. The cheese is priced similarly to others (though still more), but other things are way higher. A quart of cherry pie filling here is $13 vs about $8 elsewhere on the peninsula (same brand). A six pack of beer that would normally sell for about $7 was $14. So if you want cheese variety, stop by. But if you want basic cheese or you want to buy anything else they sell, your money would be better spent elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
474 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 978 helpful votes
“A Very Neat Stop”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This cheese shop is right on the highway and more than likely lots of vehicles parked around it. The shop is very nice and has more kinds of cheeses that one can imagine. There are also free samples so try some of that really old aged cheese. it will knock your socks off. Lost of jellies and preserves also on the shelves plus a few fresh cherries. There is also a snack bar where you can get a cup of coffee. This place is worth your time and stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Find the Best Cheese on the Planet... Check”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have family in Door County and have been there numerous times, however, somehow I missed what can only be called the best cheese on the planet. I took my family there and he had a great lunch outside from their deli and the prices were very reasonable, and they had tons of FREE samples and a huge play set for the kids.

Ok, now this is where the review gets weird, we went to a parade the next day in near-by Brussels, WI to see a local parade, and guess what? A giant Renard's mouse was in the parade and threw bags of cheese curds to the crowd!

I will be back every time I visit family there. Do not miss this on your way to Sturgeon Bay!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasteee Cheese”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stopped in a bought some cheese. Not much more to say. The cheese was good. The lady was nice. it was clean

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jubutld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renard's Cheese also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Egg Harbor, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Renard's Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing