We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Production”

Third Avenue Playhouse (TAP)
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Production”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I went to the production of Hitchcock's The 39 Steps and it was very well done! Nice little theater with no bad seats. Very accomplished actors!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top-notch "39 Steps"!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had come into town and seen the poster for the night's performance of Alfred Hitchcock's "39 Steps" and decided to attend. So very glad we did! Excellent performances by the cast --Ryan Patrick Shaw, Kay Allmand, Amy Ensign and Ryan Schabach, directed by James Valcq. I though Ensign especially portray'd the spirit of late Victorian musichall and vaudeville. Not to give too much away, keep an eye and ear open for various Hitchkock references. Having just recently seen the 1935 B&W movie, I was curious to see how Shaw and Allmand would recreate the "bedroom scene"... no disappointments there. And of course, the chase across the moors... the TAP performance hit all the highlights of the 1935 movie.
The lobby was slightly overheated, and the seating in the theater was cool. There was an amply stocked concession stand in the lobby -including alcohol- for before, during and after, with local wine available for a donation.
We were happy to support this great troupe.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SVandAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It wad a night full good friends, laughter, and inspired discussion.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The cast in The House of Blue Leaves was incredibly talented. They made us laugh and cry. We left that charming, intimate theater and talked about the meaning of the work for hours. It is a must see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hbrispetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Venue Downtown”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I saw the free concert here early in September sponsored by Ministry Health (thank you!). The Guru Ganesha Band with Sturgeon Bay's own Hans Christian on cello. We arrived way early, and an actor from the stage group showed us the smaller space then setup for a running play. The people were very friendly running the place. Enjoyed ourselves.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The House of Blue Leaves”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The actors played their parts well but the material of the play was disappointing. I wish I had not gone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, co-Artistic Director at Third Avenue Playhouse (TAP), responded to this review, October 2, 2015
I'm sorry that while you appear to have enjoyed the marvelous cast of THE HOUSE OF BLUE LEAVES, you were less than impressed by the play itself. This particular play has won numerous awards since its premiere in 1971 and has been seen on Broadway in two separate revivals. That said, not every play we do will suit everybody's taste. We pride ourselves on presenting a wide assortment of plays in an effort to reflect the tastes and sensibilities of our very diverse audiences. Just know that because you didn't care for this particular play doesn't necessarily mean you wouldn't like something else we present. If you have any questions at all about a play's subject matter please do not hesitate to ask any questions of us before you purchase a ticket. Thank you for visiting our theatre and taking the time to comment on your experience. We hope your next experience with us will be a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Third Avenue Playhouse (TAP) also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Third Avenue Playhouse (TAP)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing