We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking a nice atmosphere”

Waterfront Mary's Bar & Grill
Ranked #43 of 86 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located at Beach Harbor Resort.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lacking a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped in for a beverage and an appetizer. Sushi was Monday's special. Due to the rather "old & dirty" looking atmosphere, we opted to try the Egg Rolls instead of the sushi. Ordered 2, one shrimp and one chicken. They were very good. Bloody Mary was good as well. Bartenders were great - but not the atmosphere. There is outdoor seating overlooking Sturgeon Bay. Too bad the building isn't appealing (inside & out). We will not go out of our way to go back as there are other nicer establishment to stop at.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TranquilSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    31
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local place with great reasonably priced food, drinks and water view”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Looking for where the locals go? This is the best fish boil in Door County. Also great Bloody Mary's , good food that is reasonably priced, and a full bar. You can eat outdoors by the water and there is room for kids to play or you can eat inside. Either way it has a warm,friendly atmosphere, and you will love the view.
We have gone several times. My husband and I are Door Cty
summer residents and this is our favorite place to take visitors for a true "local experience" .We hear they have music at night, too, but we have not tried that as we are not night people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frightened1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't go there for the food!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location! One of the largest adds in the local restaurant booklets lured us here the first day upon arrival. Nice location nearby park and on water front across Sturgeon Bay. Mix of nearby low budget motel and different crowd of local's hanging out kind of spoil the nice setting and view. Kitchen and toilet set up are disgusting. Like I said, no need to eat her. Food tastes terrible. Come for the drink and relax a bit. Come early enough you can enjoy some descend life music. Come later, you will need to deal with a bunch of drunks. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FromEUtoIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great waterfront dining”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate there twice while visiting Door County, once for lunch where by wife and I had fish platter which was good and hot and more than either of us could eat. We came back the next day for Taco night and had a great time making out own tacos and watching the water lap at the shore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank groggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun place.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Let me start by saying, if you are looking for a fancy dining experience, don't go here. If you are looking for a fun, inexpensive day out, this is the place for you. It is right on the water, and you can sit inside, or outside. They have a nice menu and the food is good. The fish boil is awesome. The drinks are excellent, and they have a wide variety of fun summer drinks. Someone in an earlier review, trashed the bartenders and said that they were rude. I couldn't find that statement further from the truth. We have come to this place many times on our last 2 vacations, and the bartenders were unbelievably friendly. One bartender, Michalene, is an absolute sweetheart, and she has become a good friend of ours. The local people have also been very nice to us. This is a casual, fun place. We will continue to come here when we vacation in Sturgeon Bay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NDRiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Mary's Bar & Grill also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Waterfront Mary's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing