We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fireboat Sunset Cruise”
Review of Ride The Fireboat

Ride The Fireboat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally designed as a City of Chicago Fireboat, the “Fred A. Busse” was built in Bay City, Michigan in 1937 and is similar to two other fire fighting vessels, the Victor Schlaeger and the Joseph Medill, constructed in Sturgeon Bay shortly after World War II. It served the Chicago Fire Department for many years and now houses a small museum dedicated to Chicago’s firefighting efforts.
Savage, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fireboat Sunset Cruise”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I spent four day's in Door County this early June, We made the decision to take the sunset Fireboat cruise out of Sturgeon Bay. It was absolutely the best money we spent on our trip. The crue could not have been more accomodating. The boat is the most well equiped,
(mens & womens restroom's, bar, rain & wind clear covers) that we experience while we were in Door county. The evening we were on the boat the sunset was fantastic. Beer, mixed drinks and munchies were available. Drink prices were very reasonable. We would highly recomend the fireboat. Thanks for a great evening!
Murph

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a great time on the boat. Enjoyed appetizers and drinks while we toured sturgeon bay for about an hour and a half. Staff was friendly, bathroom was clean. The views are great. Water started to get choppy as we reached Green Bay but the captain turned us around. Some spiders on the ceiling of the boat were freaking out a few people but it was a good time and I'd recommend a tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ludicrous_speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing & fun”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The weather was a little rainy but the cruise was delightful. The staff is very friendly & makes the 1.5 hr trip very pleasurable.
The only downside for me was that the crew did smoke. I dislike cigarette smoke, which was hard to get away from.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandi123Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fire boat cruise”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

It was really fun for us even on a cool and rainy day. They have seats it the front and covered seats in the back. Can get food and drinks too. My kids loved it and they had activities like coloring and travel books to read that they gave the kids when they were bored.

Great service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Walker2886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Missing commentary?”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely day for a cruise. The staff was friendly, but we were with a group and we all felt as though we went through the channel, to Lake Michigan and back, the sound system was not up to speed. At one time someone came through and said "is that better?" so we did learn about one lighthouse. We were really expecting to have someone talk throughout much (not all) of the trip. They could also change the music that they played. This was far clearer than the narration.
My advise is that if you don't hear narration, say something right away, maybe they can increase the volume...
Also, ditch the dancing firehouse dog...a lot a people don't like to be approached and hugged without an invitation...the two or three kids on the cruise liked it, but there were lots of people who could have done without it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ride The Fireboat also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Ride The Fireboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing