We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little museum!”

Door County Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Door County Maritime Museum: Enjoy tales of bold ship captains, brave seaman, innovative shipbuilders, rugged fishermen, stalwart lighthouse keepers and much, much more--sea stories abound! The Door County Maritime Museum offers three unique visitor experiences. Its year-round 20,000 square foot flagship museum is located between the dowtown bridges on Sturgeon Bay's workking waterfront. It features four large exhibit galleries and the immaculately restored seagoing tugboat John Purves built in 1919. The iconic Cana Island Lighthouse, located Baileys Harbor, is a Door County treasure. The northern museum is a hidden gem featuring the classic wooden fish tug Hope. It is located in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock alongside the infamous "Death's Door" passage. Both are open seasonally.
Grayslake
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little museum!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

They sure pack a lot of interesting maritime info into a small museum! We enjoyed this museum the last time we were here when they had the " haunted lighthouses of the Great Lakes " exhibit. This time they had an even better pirate exhibit complete with cannons going off outside and pictures with Bob the parrot inside! The "pirate" inside the exhibit showed us real pieces of eight and other coins from the era which was very cool. Don't be fooled by the size- this is a first class museum that is also fun for kids with hands on exhibits and activities!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Ahoy! Thanks much for the wonderful review. It is obvious that you caught us on "Pirate Day". This special event is part of our annual "Merry-Time Festival of Trees" holiday celebration that occurs each year from mid-November to mid-December. As you point out, even when we are not holding a special event like Pirate Day, the museum is choked full of interesting stuff...enjoy tales of bold ship captains, brave seamen, stalwart lighthouse keepers, rugged fishermen, innovative shipbuilders, and much, much more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    104
    20
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richland Center, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have been to Door Co several times but this was our first time to the museum, what a gem! Our teenage sons really enjoyed it also. Keep up the good work!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank for the wonderful review...great to hear you enjoyed your visit! We hope you can plan a return visit in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great maritime history - well worth the visit. Hey, you know that the weather does not always cooperate in Sturgeon Bay, so check out the Maritime Museum!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachinBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Ahoy! Thanks so much for the great review!! Great advice on the museum as an option when the weather doesn't cooperate during your visit to Sturgeon Bay...we're cool in the summer, warm in the winter and dry when it rains. Come see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Merry Festival of Trees"”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Wow! Today was the opening of the holiday trees at the museum, beautiful. Not only is there a lot to see in the museum, this was an extra bonus - amazing what a small town museum can do! There was something for kids and older adults to see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jibsheet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Ahoy! Thanks so much for the wonderful review...we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our "Merry-Time Festival of Trees"...the 30+ Christmas trees adorning the galleries are awesome! Each tree was donated and decorated by a local business or organization. The 2013 event opened on 16 November and will conclude on December 10th. Check our website for information on the dates for 2014...we anticipate even more wonderful trees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pirates! Loved it!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The gift shop has got some GREAT fun things- Since they have a Pirates exhibit there are tons of fun pirate things for souveniers. My boyfriend and I stopped at the museum based on what information I had found on TripAdvisor. It was a great stop on a wonderful Door County vacation. Definitely recommend, whether you have children or if you are on a couple's vacation. The exhibits were great, plan on spending a couple of hours there, poking around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit...we hope you can stop back by in the not too distant future! Our pirate exhibit has been very popular...we're extending its run through December 2014! Thanks again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door County Maritime Museum also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Door County Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing