We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum”

Door County Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Door County Maritime Museum: Enjoy tales of bold ship captains, brave seaman, innovative shipbuilders, rugged fishermen, stalwart lighthouse keepers and much, much more--sea stories abound! The Door County Maritime Museum offers three unique visitor experiences. Its year-round 20,000 square foot flagship museum is located between the dowtown bridges on Sturgeon Bay's workking waterfront. It features four large exhibit galleries and the immaculately restored seagoing tugboat John Purves built in 1919. The iconic Cana Island Lighthouse, located Baileys Harbor, is a Door County treasure. The northern museum is a hidden gem featuring the classic wooden fish tug Hope. It is located in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock alongside the infamous "Death's Door" passage. Both are open seasonally.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went to Maritime Museum with 16-yr old daughter. We both really enjoyed the museum - a lot of history & great displays. We got there about 1:00ish on a Saturday & the front desk person informed us the tug boat tours were done for the day so if you want to tour the tug boat, I guess you should make sure you get there in the morning. Very good museum - don't pass this one by!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Ahoy! Thanks much for the great review...we're thrilled you enjoyed your visit! We hope you can return in the near future for that tour of our historic tugboat, John Purves (Purr-Vess).

Our goal is to always have the tug open daily from 10:30 until 3:00 from May through November. Unfortunately, we occasionally run short of volunteers to lead tours, requiring us to close a bit early. It sounds like you caught one of those day. It is a 40 minute guided tour taking you everywhere from engine room to wheelhouse and points between. The tug was built in 1919 and led a fascinating life, including a stint as an Army tug during WWII in the Aleutian Islands! Thanks again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    104
    20
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the most enjoyable mini museums we have been to. Great history, photos, relics, interactive displays. Even got to pull the ship horn and look through a periscope. Very cool

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We are very proud of our museum...its fun to tell the tales of bold captains, brave seamen, stalwart lighthouse keepers, rugged fishermen and innovative shipbuilders. Glad you enjoyed your visit...hope you can stop to see us again when next you visit the Door Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Local Museum”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Maritime Museum is located in downtown Sturgeon Bay next to the water. The museum has several nice galleries covering the history of the local boating and shipbuilding industries. Well designed displays. There is a tugboat tour available as an option to add to the museum visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hawk1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Ahoy! Thanks much for the great review...we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit. We are honored to tell the story of the Door Peninsula's rich maritime history!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, AR, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take the tug tour”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was awesome. The tour has the former senior engineer on the tug for 35 years or something.. Great piece of history..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rendell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Ahoy! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the historic tugboat, John Purves. We are very proud of our big red tug! She's led a long and intersting life...happy that we can share her story with our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, IL.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Enjoyed this place and learned a lot. we really had no previous knowledge about the shipbuilding and maritime history of the county. The staff wasn't the friendliest but we were there late in the season.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks much for the wonderful review...great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the museum. I'm sorry to hear the "wasn't the friendliest" review about the staff. I share all such comments with our front desk folks to remind them that we only get one chance to make a great first impression. Thanks againf for the review, hope you can stop by to see us again when next your visit the Door Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door County Maritime Museum also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Door County Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing