We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting”

Door County Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Door County Maritime Museum: Enjoy tales of bold ship captains, brave seaman, innovative shipbuilders, rugged fishermen, stalwart lighthouse keepers and much, much more--sea stories abound! The Door County Maritime Museum offers three unique visitor experiences. Its year-round 20,000 square foot flagship museum is located between the dowtown bridges on Sturgeon Bay's workking waterfront. It features four large exhibit galleries and the immaculately restored seagoing tugboat John Purves built in 1919. The iconic Cana Island Lighthouse, located Baileys Harbor, is a Door County treasure. The northern museum is a hidden gem featuring the classic wooden fish tug Hope. It is located in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock alongside the infamous "Death's Door" passage. Both are open seasonally.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you are really into boats and ships and history of the great lakes, etc.. then this is the place for you! We were looking for a place to go when everything else was closed and this happened to be open. It was interesting, but also kind of boring.

Thank HawFlower12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Ahoy! Thanks much for the postive review...glad you found us! We're open nearly everyday (only close on New Year's, Easter, Thanksgiving & Christmas) year 'round. We do our best to make the rich maritime history of the Door Peninsula come alive. Hope you had a chance to man the guns on the pirate ship "Fortune" and take in a view of the "winter fleet" over at the shipyard through our working periscope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 305 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've gone every year. It's a terrific fund raiser and so great for the kids. Well organized and unique. It's a treasured tradition in our family.

Thank mrs_dunebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Ahoy! Thanks much for the great review. Santa on the Tug is one of our favorite events each year. It's wonderful to hear that it has become your family tradition...we look forward to seing you again next year when the Coast Guard once again transports Santa to our beloved historic tugboat, John Purves, to hear the Christmas wishes of all the good little girls and boys. Watch our website for the date and details. Better yet, sign up for our e-mail newsletter to stay abreast of all the happenings here at the maritime musem. Cheers, Bob the Elf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My son loved the pirates exhibit which I understand will be on display for 2 years. There are costumes they can try on and then a pirate ship with working cannons (for a video game) where they can shoot other ships. Plenty of interactive displays. Be sure to have then pull the rope in the adjoining boat to hear the tugboat horn. The pirate paintings were also top notch. Although not everything displayed is from local waters, they do a good job of tying it to the region, when possible. I enjoyed seeing all the lighthouses. I didn't know there were so many. You will learn a great deal about the ship making that took place in WI if you take time to read the many displays. Discounts for active duty military and when we were there, kids got in free.

Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Ahoy! Thanks so much for the wonderful review and great pictures...we're thrilled you enjoyed your visit! And yes, by popular demand, our "PIrates--Ship to Shore" exhibit will run through 2013. Hope you can visit again soon and once again try your hand at sinking a few ships from the deck of the pirate ship Fortune. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My parents lived this life here in the 1940's and 50's. WWII ship building was the largest industry ever to hit Wisconsin and most dont realize the effort SB played. Well worth the visit and take the firetug boat ride.

1  Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our WWII Shipbuilding exhibit...the WWII shipbuilding effort at the shipyards here in Sturgeon Bay and elsewhere on the Great Lakes is a extraordinary story that too few people know about...we are thrilled that we can share this amazing story with our visitors and in some small way salute the accomplishments of all those who worked so hard and did so much for the war effort. Hope you got a chance to view the present day shipyards and the rest of the port through our working submarine periscope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The displays are attractive and interesting. Some displays are interactive. This is a good place to visit for both individuals and families.

Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Ahoy! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit...hope you got a chance to sink a few ships from the deck of our pirate ship, Fortune. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door County Maritime Museum also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Door County Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing