We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and Interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Door County Maritime Museum

Door County Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Door County Maritime Museum: Enjoy tales of bold ship captains, brave seaman, innovative shipbuilders, rugged fishermen, stalwart lighthouse keepers and much, much more--sea stories abound! The Door County Maritime Museum offers three unique visitor experiences. Its year-round 20,000 square foot flagship museum is located between the dowtown bridges on Sturgeon Bay's workking waterfront. It features four large exhibit galleries and the immaculately restored seagoing tugboat John Purves built in 1919. The iconic Cana Island Lighthouse, located Baileys Harbor, is a Door County treasure. The northern museum is a hidden gem featuring the classic wooden fish tug Hope. It is located in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock alongside the infamous "Death's Door" passage. Both are open seasonally.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Enjoyable and Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We visited this museum on our vacation and enjoyed it very much. There are so many models of ships in their museum and so much history to learn about - it was interesting. We especially enjoyed taking the tour of the John Purves Tug Boat-this was a real highlight for us!

Helpful?
Thank Perhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your museum visit and tugboat tour. Walking the deck of the historic tug John Purves is truly a unique experience! Thanks for the great review...we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    95
    20
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Informational, great for kids too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We love going here and always take a little more info with us when we leave. Try it, you will find something interesting there!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMBC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit! Hope you had time to don some pirate attire and fire the guns on the pirate ship Fortune in our new "Pirates--Ship to Shore" exhibit. It's fun for kids of all ages! Again, glad you enjoyed your visit...we hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkdale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The history we found here was well presented and very interesting. Kids might not appreciate some things, but are sure to enjoy the boat that is displayed.

We were at the Gills Rock location and will be sure to check the other when we come back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Ahoy! Thanks so much for the great review...we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to our "Northern Gem" in Gills Rock. Many folks who stop by our larger museum in Sturgeon Bay miss the opportunity to visit our wonderful little facility in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock at the tip of the peninsula. Again, we're glad you found your way to our Gills Rock museum...we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Great Introduction to area Shipbuilding History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A nicely arranged collection of artifacts and models relating to the history of shipbuilding in the city of Sturgeon Bay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank orenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks so much for the postitive review! We are very proud of our shipbuilding accomplishments here in Sturgeon Bay. Great to hear that you enjoyed the exhibits...hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was the 2nd year in a row I've gone, and the changing exhibits are really well done. Plan on spending at least an hour if you're going for a specific exhibit, more if you want to explore the entire museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KCHolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Ahoy! Thanks much for the great review...we're thrilled you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Onward and upward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door County Maritime Museum also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Door County Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing