We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Dwellers Resort
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised by The Cliff Dwellers. Everything seems to have been updated recently - the Townhouse we rented for a reasonable price appeared almost new. There is a nice small pool on the edge of the water and beautiful flowers everywhere. The staff was nice too.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2007

This was our first trip to Door County. Sturgeon Bay is south, at the entrance to Door County, not centrally located but it is not a long drive to anywhere - we went all over. We stayed in the Cedar cottage. It was newly remodeled, very cute and clean and plenty roomy for the two of us. The cottages are fairly close together, closer than they appear on the website. The pool is decent and there is a nice indoor hot tub and sauna for guests but we did not use it. The resort is adjacent to Potawatami St Park, you couldn't be closer. They have free bikes (including tandem) for the use of guests. All the rooms seem to have a nice view of the Lake. Ours was across the street from the lake - our LR and BR windows overlooked the lake and there was a cute little patio as well. We looked at the rooms in the actual motel part and they were nice too. The flat screen tv is small and there was no DVD, we watched a movie on our laptop. They do have cable though. They do not have internet access, which I would have liked.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RILtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

My husband and I decided we wanted to go to Wisconsin for a weekend getaway without the kids because neither one of us had ever been there. After extensive online research, we decided to go to Sturgeon Bay. After research on Sturgeon Bay hotels, we decided Cliff Dwellers sounded like a great place for us. I made a call to Cliff Dwellers and the only one-bedroom cottage available was the Cedar Cottage, so we said we'd take it. We were hoping it would be nice and we wouldn't be disappointed. As soon as we walked in the cottage my husband said "I could live in here!". It was REALLY nice - recently refurbished/redecorated with nice kitchen appliances, furniture, area rug, comfy bed, great bathroom, vaulted ceilings with exposed beams, Pella windows and doors, nice wood cabinetry thoughout. It was actually a very small (I think 320 sq. ft.) cottage, but every inch of space was well utilized. The view of the water was great, and we really enjoyed the little stone patio off of the living area. I should mention it was a studio cottage, so there was no seperate bedroom, just a bedroom area off to the side. But it was fine for the two of us. Sturgeon Bay is a really pretty area, and we found plenty of things to do for the weekend. If we would ever return to the area, I would definitely stay at Cliff Dwellers again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hev1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Bay Cottage at Cliff Dwellers Resort from July 12th-15th, 2007, and had a great stay. The Bay Cottage is RIGHT on the water, and it was wonderful to fall asleep to the waves each night. There's also a great landing and chairs outside, and it's secluded compared to the other cottages. It was very clean and updated, and we found the cottage to be more than spacious for the long weekend.

Cliff Dwellers also provides free bike rentals, which we utilized each day. The Potowatomi State Park is about 5 minutes away by bike, and we were also able to rent canoes and jet skis near the hotel.

My only warning is that this hotel is about 15-20 minutes away from the "cute" parts of Door County (aka Fish Creek and Egg Harbor). Cab rides are EXTREMELY expensive and hard to come by, so please keep this in mind if you plan to have a few drinks after dinner and you don't want to drive.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

My husband and I stayed two nights in Cedar Cottage at Cliff Dwellers. It was newly remodeled, very clean, nicely decorated, cozy and overall even better than the photos posted on their website.

We had a wonderful view, great bed, flatscreen TV, very nice bath, comfortable seating area, new kitchen appliances--it was very, very nice.

We enjoyed sleeping with the window by our bed partially open to catch the sound of the waves on the bay. Because the resort is on a dead end, it was extremely quiet.

The resort has games and books to borrow, bikes to take into the nearby state park, rowboats, and an outdoor pool. There's also an indoor sauna and whirlpool in a separate building.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiscDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
twin lakes,wis
15
Reviewed April 3, 2006

quiet hotel across the street from the bay... hotel is built right into a cliffside... very cool... doors to the rooms are on cliffside... following morning they brought up coffee and muffins... perfect sweetheart's weekend getaway... fall colors are everywhere.

  • Stayed: October 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
fairfax, VA
216
Reviewed September 3, 2004

As the name implies, the Cliff Dwellers sits on a bluff overlooking Sturgeon Bay. The staff is exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Each morning, a tray of coffee, juice, and home baked breads and rolls and delivered to the room. Rooms in the main lodge are large by the standard of most modern hotels. While rather spare in decor, they are clean and bright, with balconies overlooking the bay. The property adjoins a state park and bicycles are available at Cliff Dwellers for visiting the part (the observation tower is worth the steep 1/2 mile road leading to it). The pool is small, and the bay is not clear enough for swimming. However, the Cliff Dwellers is centrally located in Door County, and recreation and sightseeing is close by (the town of Fish Creek is worth a visit, as is the Maratime Museum). While certainly not a luxury resort, the Cliff Dwellers is a good value.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.8 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
527 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
806 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Harbor Resort
Beach Harbor Resort
#11 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Dwellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Dwellers Resort

Address: 3540 N Duluth Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9088
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $119 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Dwellers Resort is nestled between the serene moss and cedar-covered cliffs and the deep blue waters of Sturgeon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff Dwellers Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Cliff Dwellers Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing