We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit Deceptive in the Description of this Resort....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Dwellers Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Bit Deceptive in the Description of this Resort....”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My family stayed here for a week but had I known that the resort is split right down the middle with a busy road that my family had to constantly cross to get to the water (Bay or pool) that was dangerous, we would not have picked this resort. A lot of traffic on this road even though it was close to a dead end surprisingly. I had also been excited about the bikes available to use on the resort.... but there is no where to ride in this resort unless you are on the busy, narrow road... until you get into the National Park nearby. The resort advertises boats for use, too. Well, that was a disappointment also. Available to us was a row boat with a broken oar and a paddleboat that my kids would have loved if the pedals on it actually worked. The hot tub was not even available to us for two days due to water chemical change and when we did get in it... it had no turbulence in the jets although the water was warm. One other thing that was not too much fun about this resort was the fact that there wasn't a beach per se by their part of The Bay to swim in either. We could see a beach across the bay with sand and that is what we went to actually swim in the bay although we did have to drive to get to it. Did I also mention that the view from the resort is of the shipbuilding industrial side of the Bay? The cabin was nice and the grounds were meticulously kept up. But as far as amenities on the property, Cliff Dwellers is lacking. The gas grill and firepit also advertised is a community thing so you have to share on a first come first served basis which is not very convenient for a family. I know that I will never book a room/cottage here ever again for my family and I.

Room Tip: Rooms in The Maple are very small but if you had more amenities on the resort you wouldn't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayAtCD, Manager at Cliff Dwellers Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Our little road is part of the Ice Age Trail and frequently traveled by bicyclists and pedestrians. Pot-State park is only 1500 feet away /w miles of biking and hiking trails around the shores and bluffs with no fee's for non-motorized users.

We were unable to give you the discount you requested because you had falsified the number of people in your cottage. We regret that you had a bad vacation and hope that your negative experiences with us did not contribute to the negative review you gave to the other establishment in the area.

The oar for the rowboat was replaced immediately, and the paddle boat shortly thereafter. There was also a kayak you could have used. The Spa was down for less then one day for a mandatory state inspection.

The view of the Bay consists of miles of forested shoreline, the shipyard, the city of Sturgeon Bay, and the steel bridge in the distance. During your stay your group had no trouble accessing any of the fire pits or grills.

Our resort is truthfully represented on our website and advertising materials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    21
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. Our cottage was small and cozy, but very clean and up to date. The road cuts right through the middle of the resort, with cottages on each side. Parking was limited. We had a good view of the bay, but it was kind of cluttered and uninspiring. Our observation was that this resort really caters to the gay community, however - we had hoped to use the hot tub, but found it otherwise preoccupied. Our main complaint was that downtown Sturgeon Bay was not really within walking distance (and most of the other things we wanted to see were on up the peninsula as well).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My family including 3 kids and one young adult loved Cliff Dwellers. I was hesitant to stay at the bottom of Door County but am so glad we did. We stayed in a cabin that was newly remodeled, spotless, and with a gas fireplace. My daughter was literally screeching with joy as she ran from room to room when we first arrived. Staff were very accommodating, getting the pool heated for us upon check in. Beds were comfortable. Kitchen left nothing to be desired. Some nice touches, like good books to read. There were free bikes available to ride into Potowatomi Park, minutes away. The kids want to make it a yearly visit. I would highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilTownFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mokena il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Very very clean, great queen bed . The cottage is very cozy for 2 people only.The location is on the west side of bay great sunrise. Theres a small lawn then the bay.We liked it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokenavince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We spent one night here on a road trip through Wisconsin and LOVED it! So sad we had such a short stay, but it's tops on our list for our next visit to Door County. Check in was a breeze and the cottage (Bay) was perfect! Everything you might need was in this compact space with, I'm certain, the best view of 'em all. It's as if you're on the water. The cottage has a parking spot immediately adjacent to the door and a few steps down leads to a patio/pier-type space with chairs and a canoe. Back inside the cottage, the kitchen is fully equipped and there's even a movie-drawer with a great selection of dvd's, a pair of binoculars and a beautiful Bible. Like I said, anything you might need is there.Wonderful windows all around featured custom enclosed blinds for privacy. The bedroom features a wall of cabinetry that could easily fit several months of clothing. The cottage appeared to be very recently remodeled, gleaming hardwoods, quality cabinetry and it was the most spotless space we've ever spent time in while traveling. There was a small motel in rural Georgia that since 2006 or so was my number one on cleanliness. The Bay cottage even pushed that one down to number two. The resort itself flanks a road that dead ends at a hiking/walking trail and Ice Age park with great views of the bay. You cannot go wrong with Cliff Dwellers!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DallasTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We absolutely loved Cliff Dwellers Resort and will definitely return. We stayed in the Harbor's Edge cottage and it was great, EXCEPT the cabin is not a stand alone cabin and the top unit (upper level in the photos) is also a cottage that's owned by people who are quite noisy. We managed to enjoy our trip and the bottom unit is very clean, newly remodeled, and had a nice layout. We were not 100% impressed with our surprise upon arrival (they failed to note it on their website and when we called to confirm the cottage a week prior to our arrival) that we weren't going to be the only ones in the cabin with neighbors living above us. They did offer to put us in another unit (but not a cottage) if they were "too noisy." We didn't feel like relocating all of our belongings when we discovered that the units aren't very soundproof. The location of the resort is perfect and we also went on a bike ride to the State Park. The bikes they have to use are VERY old and are probably circa 1975 and not very well maintained. So, I would advise bringing your own bikes or not go on a very long bike ride. :) The indoor hot tub and sauna are very enjoyable, but the gas fireplace by the hot tub didn't work when we wanted to use it. The staff are pretty friendly and the grounds, etc. are very well maintained. All in all, a great place with a few catches that everyone should be aware of.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travel4relaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Beautiful setting...lush cliffs are an exquisite setting for this peaceful, quiet resort. Our unit was immaculate and newly remodeled. Maybe a little pricey but well worth it. My husband and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadtownV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.8 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
24.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Dwellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Dwellers Resort

Property: Cliff Dwellers Resort
Address: 3540 N Duluth Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9088
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Dwellers Resort is nestled between the serene moss and cedar-covered cliffs and the deep blue waters of Sturgeon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff Dwellers Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Cliff Dwellers Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing