We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Breakfast!!!!”
Review of Mels Place - CLOSED

Mels Place
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Awesome Breakfast-Best Corn Beef Hash
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Breakfast!!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I had the Salmon omelette & my boyfriend had Eggs Benedict. Everything was delicious from the eggs, cheese, potatoes, to the Door County Cherry jelly on the perfect English Muffin. We will be bac!!

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    1
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So good we took one for the road home!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Reuben sandwich, that is! The perfect blend of crunchy, buttery marbled rye holding together chopped homemade corned beef, thousand island, and sauerkraut just melts in your mouth. But that's not all Mel's can do! They rock french toast! Hey, how about a choice of pure maple syrup. The french toast deserves it! ;)
Mel's is a casual, family friendly place open early (5 am) for breakfast and serving lunch lunch til 2 pm. Service is relaxed but attentive. So kick back and enjoy gazing out the window toward the public park.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It took forever to get our food. The ffod was very greasy and three of the family's tummies were not the greatest. Not much open in January but better to go to Pick n Save

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!! ”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stuffed cherry french toast best thing on the menu by far and amazing omelets! Service great and located in an adorable renovated house near downtown sturgeon bay. Love love love this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank hannahemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a breakfast !”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife ordered the Salmon Benedict and i ordered the Corned Beef hash. Both were outstanding. Try the English Muffins, best i ever had. Nice little place , nice view , good service and great food, what else could you ask for?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmccann115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mels Place also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing