We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barely okay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Sturgeon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Barely okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

This property was cheap and in a good location, which were my principal reasons for choosing it. The staff was not very friendly, but they did get me checked in and out efficiently. Rooms have not been updated in at least 15 or 20 years. Hotel was kind of clean. Carpets might have been vacuumed since last guest stayed there, but it was hard to tell as they were so worn.

If you need a place to just crash, this is an okay choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coso333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    66
    83
    53
    39
See reviews for
110
91
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We just got back from a stay at the Super 8 in Sturgeon Bay. This was the second year we have stayed at this motel. It's a great place to stay while exploring the Door County fall festivals. While it's not the fanciest place to stay, it is reasonable for the Door County area and we had no problems with cleanliness. The small refrigerator in our room was plugged into the wrong outlet so when the lights were turned off, it would shut off so if you have a problem, check that. We were given extra pillows and the room temperature was comfortable. The pool and spa are wonderful and while there was a little too much chemical in the spa, both were very clean. The breakfast in the morning is fine and what you would expect, toast, bagels, donuts, cereal, juice, milk and coffee. We booked through Travelocity and had no problems with our reservation and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmissinglink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakfield, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

The room had a "wet dog" odor. The walls and ceiling were half painted. I was nervous to let my children play on the carpet; it was so filthy. The pool area was dirty and smelled. It was very retro and dirty. About the only good things were Charlie, one of the front desk workers, and the continental breakfast was not bad. I would not recommend it nor would I ever stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliensmommy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturgeon Bay hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

I made a reservati online at the Super 8 web site and received back confirmation. Upon arriving at the hotel at midnight I was told that they never received my reservation and they were sold out. They were basically telling me tough luck, I was on my own to find a room . They offered to do nothing. Do not ever stay here. I was lied to by the management. They told me that the email the Super 8 sent me was not a valid guarantee and that unless I booked a room 2 or 3 days in advance my room was not guaranteed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevewetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

The hallway was freezing only one heater on,the pool was dirty,whirpool had green junk on the bottom,breakfast was just bagles and coffee ,and one cream cheese had mold in it.This place is horrible for the winter unless u like freezing ur butt off

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank eggfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

The Super 8 at Sturgeon Bay was a good base for exploring Door County. The rooms had all the facilities we needed (fridge, microwave) and the pool area was brilliant to relax in after a long day of hiking in the state parks. We also liked the breakfast which, whilst quite basic, was enough to keep us going until mid morning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenseren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point WI
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

First double and maybe triple check your reservation we had a confirmation # and they did not have our room right. After check in with our confirmation number on the sheet she told me I did not have a reservation and argued with me at the front desk! It got even worse after that I did not feel comfortable staying there.
Housekeeping: Dovet severly stained, 2 of the 4 pillow cases were blood stained. Lamps and corners filthy. DO NOT use the air conditioning, when you pulled out the filter it was so packed with dirt/dust you could not get it back in (the outside was discolored and dirty so we checked the filter element). The window sill was crusty with a used q-tip laying on it and the screen had a hole patched with a piece of rolled up paper stuffed in it. Pool was cloudy with an underwater light fixture hanging loose in the water.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasttripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
4.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
17.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sturgeon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sturgeon Bay

Property: Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Address: 409 Green Bay Rd, wy 42/57 at Sturgeon Bay Exit, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sturgeon Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Sturgeon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Super Eight Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing