We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Great Price - Not Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We found this place to be nice and friends, clean and welcoming. However, I would not say that this is luxury. The rooms were nice and simple, not much frills, but a all around great lace to get away and enjoy one another.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 344 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Overall we were happy. Easy access to the main hiway, and close to a large grocery store. Great off season prices too. Liked the free DVDs, free use of the paddle boats, The location is not in the tourist area of door county, but an easy drive, and you can get away from the crowd here. The grounds were very well kept.

Areas of opportunity:
Some of the kitchen utensils needed washing before use and some "detail dusting" (tops of dressers, display items) needed. But, thats just me being picky ;) It would be nice if the receptionist had more help answering the phone.

One final suggestion, skip the "Premium rooms". Yes, they are closer to the water, but the cheaper rooms actually have nicer sight angle to the water and, of course, the sunset. So, the extra we paid for the premium was not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captkirk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We just came back from staying a Westwood Shores. This was a great hotel we had a 2 bedroom suite. It had full kitchen with all dishes, pots and pans, full size stove, dish washer and frig. This room was more like an apartment then a hotel room. Everything was clean, beds very comfortable. House keeping cleaned room everyday. The only thing one of the bedrooms was a little warm because it did not have an air conditioner. The hotel grounds were very neat and quite location its about 10 minutes from down town Sturgeon Bay. There was no restaurant, there was a very small arcade with only 4 games. They offer free videos to watch, free board game to use, and free coffee, tea and hot chocolate. 24/7. Our kids really liked it and want to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dal923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Just returned from a week of Packer Football......highlight of the trip.

I used to travel every week on business. I have NEVER seen a cleaning staff so late. Every day our room was being cleaned at 1:30 to 3:00 PM. With that schedule you would assume doing a very thorough job. NOT!!
No changing of sheets or using the vacumm cleaner, just leaving clean towels and making the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRUCEfmMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Would come back again and again. The resort and staff were wonderful. Nice location - right at the base of Door County. The sun set right on the water and we had a wonderful view from our balcony and from the beach. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We got to the hotel early and the desk clerk was very friendly. She notified us as soon as they were done cleaning our suite. The staff made us feel welcome and were always willing to help with any questions and make suggestions for dining when we asked. The layout and decor of the 2 bedroom suite was great. There was plenty of room for our crew, which included my hubby and I, a 19 yr old, an 18 yr old, a 16 yr old, and a fifteen year old. There was an indoor pool that we went in and an outdoor pool, a whirlpool and a sauna. We are definitely going back. One of the best places I've stayed at!! My parents had a 1 br suite and loved it as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juls2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Spacious rooms, great view of the water, very clean and exceptionally friendly staff. We were looking for someplace we could use as home base as we explored Door County and this proved to be the perfect place for us. The king suite allowed us to put our infant daughter to bed in her crib, and still enjoy watching the sunset from our balcony or watch a movie. An excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indypenny0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
13.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
395 reviews
13.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
339 reviews
22.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
216 reviews
18.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#3 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Address: 4303 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $108 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort is located less than five miles north of the heart of Wisconsin's Sturgeon Bay on scenic Bay Shore Drive. All of our 38 suites have a breathtaking view making it a favorite vacation spot of guests coming to enjoy the splendor of Door County. Westwood Shores has a wide variety of year 'round activities including: heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, shore-front picnic areas, complimentary paddle boats (in season), wireless high speed wireless and much more! Our spacious suites were redecorated in 2017 - that means new carpet, new paint, new furniture and all new accessories. The best part of our suite though is still the sunset view from each and every balcony. Our lobby features complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate and a place to relax and check your email. We are just three miles north of Sturgeon Bay so its an easy drive to restaurants, parks and attractions. We are also the perfect base for discovering all of Door County! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Shores Waterfront Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing