We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westwood Shores - Terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I just arrived home from staying there from the 22nd to the 27th, room 301. I found the room and facilities top notch and could not have asked for more. I proposed to my girlfriend (we're 53) and she said yes. She's a city girl all the way through from Chicago and I'm an outdoorsman. She loved the quietness and kept talking about it the whole week and the way back home. This was the best vacation I've had in over 10 years.

Thank you
Joe from Chicago

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrob7993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 349 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed for a weekend and loved it so much we booked right away for June with the kids.
We are anxiously waiting our return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

living room with TV and gas fireplace, queen bed in separate bedroom, whirlpool tub and small deck overlooking the bay side. also an indoor pool and hot tub. great location about 2 miles north of sturgeon bay. easy drive up the bay towards Fish Creek and other well known spots in Door County.

The "off season" price per night in May was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waunakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a three-night stay at Westwood Shores and cannot recommend this resort enough. We had stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed it a great deal. When we were looking for a little spring break getaway this year, we decided on Door County, and after contemplating other places to stay both in regards to other locations in Door County and other resorts, we came back to Westwood Shores and we were happy we did!

It is the offseason right now (after New Year's until early May) and we were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite with a master bedroom (king-sized bed with hot tub) and a second bedroom (queen-sized/ full standard bath). The room was clean, bright and very comfortable. The bed was fine and the rooms have individual heating controls. The rooms are in the midst of some repainting (good!) and the interiors are done in florals and nautical themes, which weren't for us but are harmless. There is a small TV w/ DVD in each bedroom and above the fireplace in the living room with a good selection of 30 or so channels (locals out of Green Bay). They also have a fair selection of DVD's to borrow. They have also recently introduced free wi-fi throughout the resort, which we used without issue throughout our stay.

The kitchen was sufficiently stocked with enough utensils and pans to make most dishes (we also brought a few things of our own just in case) and we stayed in and cooked two of our nights with no problems. The resort is also 10 minutes from a full grocery store (Econo Foods) in Sturgeon Bay, which had a good selection and decent prices.

We can't say much for the outdoor activities at Westwood only because of the timing of our stay, but everything looks to be in good order. The indoor pool and hot tub are fine for a quick dip. The exercise room is as small in person as it is in the picture on the website and it looks capable of being full quickly in season. Also note that there is only one ice machine, which is on the lowest floor and not centrally located. Minor quibbles though...

In summary, we love this resort and will likely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmengi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Had a wonderful Valentines get away. Arrived to find we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite for free. Had asked for some extra bedding for our massage table - it was already in the room. Desk clerk (possibly owner??) not only gave advice on restaurants and bands but picked up the phone and called two places for details. Really liked the suite - nice patio, fireplace and hot tub. Indoor pool, hot tub and exercise room are strictly no frills but we used them. We borrowed a DVD from the desk too. We had to buy something to toast hors douvres in the oven and the frying pan was not good but were able to prepare the meals we ate in the room adequately. Overall we both felt that the rooms were very nice and comfortable and the personal service was above average. We would like to return some day.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the resort the first weekend in November and it was a perfect way to spend some chilly days together. The fireplace, hot tub and sauna were a much welcomed form of relaxation. They had lots of DVD's and board games to use which was pretty awesome. The front desk associates were extremely helpful in suggesting places to eat and places to see. Other than the fact that there was no juice, bottled water or any type of breakfast foods available, it was very nice. Would def go back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jessey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Stayed for 4 nights with a large group (4 seperate rooms) and everyone was very pleased. Actually, everyone loved the place. Perfect for families. Because it's out of town a bit, it's much more secluded and quieter than it's sister property the Bridgeview which is right in downtown Sturgeon Bay. Beautiful lake views and lovely grounds. Don't expect the Four Seasons, but PERFECT for a family getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank askalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
13.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
13.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
22 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
537 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Address: 4303 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $86 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort is located less than five miles north of the heart of Wisconsin's Sturgeon Bay on scenic Bay Shore Drive. All of our 38 suites have a breathtaking view making it a favorite vacation spot of guests coming to enjoy the splendor of Door County. Westwood Shores has a wide variety of year 'round activities including: heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, shore-front picnic areas, complimentary paddle boats (in season), wireless high speed wireless and much more! Our spacious suites were redecorated in 2017 - that means new carpet, new paint, new furniture and all new accessories. The best part of our suite though is still the sunset view from each and every balcony. Our lobby features complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate and a place to relax and check your email. We are just three miles north of Sturgeon Bay so its an easy drive to restaurants, parks and attractions. We are also the perfect base for discovering all of Door County! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Shores Waterfront Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing