We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bridgeport Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridgeport Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridgeport Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Bridgeport Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a great time at Bridgeport Resort in late August, 2013! I will summarize the many "pros" for this resort, and then a small number of "cons."

Pros:
- they have AFFORDABLE condos/suites with multiple bedrooms. As a parent with small children, we try to avoid traditional hotel rooms with just one room. Bridgeport allowed us to have 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, and a living room at a VERY reasonable price!
- the room was clean, the kitchen was well stocked, there were TVs in every room, 2 nice bathrooms, a balcony - the room was great
- service as the hotel was great
- our kids LOVED the pools - the indoor splash area was a big hit with my 2-year old. The ball pit in the game room was also a huge hit.
- the hotel was within walking distance of several nice restaurants.

Con:
- really, the big "con" is that Bridgeport is still quite a drive from most of the Door County sites we wanted to visit. Sturgeon Bay is about 40-60 minutes away from all the cute little towns up north we wanted to visit (egg harbor, and all the others). We didn't really want to spend our days in Sturgeon Bay itself, so we kept having to drive up North and then drive back down to Sturgeon Bay. We chose to do this, though, because Bridgeport seemed like the best resort for someone with young children. As I said above, it had the most affordable 2-bedroom rooms. AND it had the great indoor pool area, and I was so worried it would rain our entire time there. So it was a tradeoff - location for a big, affordable room. I'm not sure we would make the same choice again, though - but maybe.
- Another possible con is their use of the word "resort." My husband and I have been debating what is necessary for a place to call itself a "resort." Truly, Bridgeport is a really nice hotel - not sure "resort" is the right word. No restaurants, bars, spa....but we knew that in advance, so it wasn't like we arrived and were surprised.

Overall, we really loved the Bridgeport except for the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    85
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
209
188
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here because of trip advisor reciews. Once again TA was spot on. We stayed two nights in the utopia suite (3 bedrooms, 3 baths) with my wife and I, 2 kids and grandpa and grandma. The room was nothing fancy, but was extremely spacious, clean and quiet. We had three decks overlooking Sturgeon Bay! The location was very nice for touring Door County. The best part was the pools and kids area. After driving around all day the kids had the best time splashing around. The kiddie pool was terrific for my 2 year old, she loved it. My 4 year old had a blast in the big pool playing basketball and going to the outside pool with waterfall. The ear to ear smiles on their faces were priceless. It made traveling all day easier on them knowing they were going back to the fun hotel!!! They also had 24 hour juice, coffee and milk available. Again, perfect for families!! We will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkolVikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello SkolViking!

"Perfect for families!! We will be returning." It will be great to see you and your family again! Thank you for your business.......be well.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just love staying at Bridgeport. When we stay in Door County, Bridgeport is our only choice. The resort is so comfortable, the water views are excellent, the staff is so helpful and friendly, and the entire resort is so clean and welcoming. We've stayed at a variety of rooms that Bridgeport offers and none have disappointed us. The quality of this resort and the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JLG700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding endorsement - "The quality of this resort and the price can't be beat." The staff and ownership of the Bridgeport Resort appreciates your kind words and your business.....have a wonderful Fall!

I look forward to your next visit to Sturgeon Bay.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just returned from 3 nights at Bridgeport Resort in Sturgeon Bay. I would say it is adequate. Only had coffee available -- no breakfast at all. And the coffee was the worst. The place is only staffed from 7am-10pm and they were not very friendly at all. Particularly, the younger ones. We had to leave before 7am and that made check-out difficult. There was no automatic way to check-out. I had to call later in the day to finalize the bill. The beds/pillows were ok -- seemed clean enough. We could walk to the downtown part of Sturgeon Bay which we liked but if we went to Wisconsin Peninsula again would stay elsewhere further north.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkeven58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I were there with a group so we didn't make the reservations ourselves. I did look up the resort on line and didn't think that it could be as good as I was reading....it WAS and better! We had a 2 bedroom unit with a water view. It was quiet and comfortable and spotlessly clean. Wonderful spot and stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear GKEVEN58.....

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bridgeport Waterfront Resort....I am sorry to learn that your experience was less than satisfactory - please contact me at
800-6719190. Rest assured your experience is the exception as to what you can normally expect at our facility, it is my sincere hope to retain you as a Bridgeport guest.

Dave Holtz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Bridgeport. Some friends suggested we stay further into the peninsula, but we trusted our fellow TripAdvisor reviewers and stayed here. We were not wrong.

We have three kids, so we never really fit into a standard room. We booked a two bedroom room here and it was great. Two kids in the queen and one of the sofa sleeper meant we had the king to ourselves. It was also handy to have two showers available. The room was clean and comfortable. Could it have used an update to the decor? Probably, but it wasn't a big issue to us.

The resort itself is right on the lake, which means nice walks around the marina. It is also very close to the Maritime museum, which was great, and a number of good restaurants. We enjoyed walkting to and eating at the Bluefront Cafe, the Steel Bridge Cafe, and Sonny's pizza. You even get a discount at some restaurants if you show your room key!

If you have kids, you know that having a pool is important. Bridgeport does not disappoint. The outdoor pool was a little chilly, but still fun on hot days. The indoor pool complex had something for everyone - a zero depth entry for our 4 year old, a basketball hoop for our 9 year old, and a large space to just swim for our 11 year old. We could keep an eye on all of the action from the spa / hot tub.

If we venture back to Door County, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JusticeSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Bridgeport Resort truly is a family getaway. With well laid out, clean rooms, fun game room with jumping ball area, two pools and plenty of pool toys, and a beautiful lobby with free movies - the entire place was so much fun and yet relaxing. We stayed in one of the Griffin suites, and I was pleasantly surprised to see how well furnished, clean and well built the room was. Our room had a partial view, but we loved the two patios to play on and eat outside while viewing the bay. We had three boys on our visit - 5, 3 and 11 months. Other than moving one standing light into a free closet, I was able to let my 11 month old crawl around on his own. No paint chips, no disgusting corners or "stuff" under tables or chairs existed. He had a great time exploring, and it was very kid friendly. Our bed in the master suite was very comfortable and the kids queen bed was also comfy although the mattress was firmer. All the appliances, dishware and pots and pans were in good order and clean. I made breakfast and packed lunches for our day trips into Door County.

The pool was awesome! We used the indoor and outdoor pool each day - morning and evening. We had great experiences with other guests and children - no fighting, no foul language and a general feeling of being "good neighbors". The kid splash pad was great too - our 11 month old crawled along the concrete, even though I was picking him up alot, and his knees were never scraped. It was a very well maintained pool and sprinkler system. Our boys had a blast!!

The resort has great walking paths near the bay and we frequented these daily too. It also has a city beach with okay sand and pool area - a bit weedy, but okay. There is a playground across the beach area, and it was a nice break to stay dry and be outside. We also walked to the Maritime Museum which was next door and was also a cool place to visit and explore.

The other "bonus" was the kids fun pack they gave us when we checked in. Our boys really enjoyed the items they gave us including crayons, a coloring book, a deck of cards, sunglasses - etc - which were so thoughtful and kind. Those items came in handy when we were driving and hour plus the next day to the ferry to Washington Island.

We will be back! It was fun, relaxing, enjoyable and I am so glad we chose to stay at the Bridgeport Resort. Our family had a wonderful vacation there!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkWaupun_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We will be back! It was fun, relaxing, enjoyable and I am so glad we chose to stay at the Bridgeport Resort. Our family had a wonderful vacation there!! ......outstanding! It will be our pleasure to host your future visits to Door County...thank you for the comments and for choosing the Bridgeport Waterfront Resort.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
25.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
16.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeport Resort

Property: Bridgeport Resort
Address: 50 W Larch St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-3433
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgeport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is located in the center of historic Sturgeon Bay with exceptional access to all of Door County, Wisconsin’s quaint shops, award winning restaurants, scenic parks and wide variety of attractions. Bridgeport offers spacious one, two and three bedroom suites – with each guestroom featuring a whirlpool, a fireplace and a complete kitchen……the lodging experience at the Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is complimented by an array of on-site recreational amenities including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pools (with a indoor splash park and play ground designed for the youngsters), a whirlpool, a sauna, a fitness center and complimentary high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgeport Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Bridgeport Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing