We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Gem!”
Review of Bay Shore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Shore Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a Gem!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Bay Shore Inn is reminiscent of the Osthoff Resort in Elkhart Lake. It is located near enough to Sturgeon Bay for the convenience of dining and shopping, but just a couple of miles outside of the city to have a rustic, secluded feel. The management has excellent resources for those not familiar with the area.The rooms are lovely with each one having a view of the water. The grounds are well-groomed with interesting vegetation to look at. Our stay was delightful. Families will have much to do, but the property is large enough that couples can have privacy. We would recommend this to anyone and everyone and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The North building has an indoor pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    36
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
108
95
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our family has been coming to the Bay Shore Inn for over ten years. We have always enjoyed our stay. The condos are comfortable, clean, and well-priced. The view of the bay is lovely. There is a very nice outdoor pool and indoor pool with a hot tub. The Bay Shore provides free paddle boats and canoes to take out in the water as well as fun retro bikes. We always like checking out board games and movies at the front desk (for free) for some down time. Every night we enjoy a bonfire down by the water.

Although the Bay Shore Inn is a bit more secluded than some of the other resorts, it's quiet and relaxing. It's easy to hop in the car and explore the rest of Door County. I would definitely recommend the Bay Shore. I can't think of a better place to stay in Door County!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 149nc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Bay Shore Inn and the grounds were very nice. The staff was very curtious and accomadating to our group. All of our rooms had great water views of the bay. We would recommend this facility to anyone that is interested in a quiet vacation spot. If you are searching for restaurantes, golf or other activities, Sturgeon Bay and Egg Harbor are just a short drive from the Bay Shore Inn.

We have been vacationing in the northern section of Door County for years but this is the first time staying in the Sturgeon Bay area. It is likely we will book another long weekend at the Bay Shore Inn in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very large room (suite) with great view. Relaxing, had a full kitchen and living room with two doors exiting to a balcony. Really comfortable and simply decorated. Could see myself spending a week here. Bicycles available. We were in the area for a wine tour and booked last minute. Was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Greetings to All,

Hmmmm..... The Bay Shore Inn....

I am not given to the writing of reviews, but accurate information on where
to stay is a very handy thing to have, and especially if you are traveling as
a couple, or as a family.

I/we first stayed there, if memory serves, beginning in '88 or '89, having
been told of the place by some friends. (To whom I and we are now quite
eternally grateful.)

When first arriving, I was immediately struck by both the quality of the
construction of the buildings and facilities, as well as by the great care
and critical thought taken in the design and placement of all that is there.

It is still quite remarkable to me, even after all these years, that The Bay
Shore Inn.can be booked to overflowing (as it usually is) and still, there
is that quiet sense of privacy, that pervades your surroundings, giving
you the time, and room, to simply relax, and enjoy your vacation days.

For couples, this is a truly wonderful place, and, most probably, the very
best "base camp" available for exploring all of Door County, what ever the
season.

For families with small children, there is no better place, for safety, or for
fun!

Because of the thoughtful manner in the construction, layout and the
ever on-going high-quality maintenance, and room to run and play, and
the ancillary equipment and facilities there for the children, there may be
a better place for families with small children... but I couldn't find it.

And, even during those intervening, grammar and high school years, the
continuing beauty and quality there... still made it everyone's first choice.

As someone said here, in an earlier review, now into their young adulthhood
(The children? Grown!? How can that be!? :)... whether (now) on their own,
or as a family matter, for vacations, or just a quick getaway, the first thought
and choice, always... The Bay Shore Inn..

If you have not been there before... I envy you your first stay.

Regards to All,

DC

Room Tip: Call soon. Book early. It is sometimes difficult to find a vacancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked the winter wonderland getaway
It was wonderful Door County trolley picks you up right at the door and takes you to different winery's. Then a great lunch at a Door county landmark. The Bay shore inn is beautiful. It has everything to make a weekend perfect. A kitchen that is supplied with everything you need except for food. So bring your own.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSmntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Even in their 20's if we bring up Bay Shore our kids are ready to go. Awesome clean full amenity apartments with peaceful views of the bay. Trips to the Neighborhood Pub & Nightingale Supper Club in town are required for us. Close enough to town, yet far enough away that you can hear nature.
Bay Shore is a great base to see all of Door County. After more than 10 years of going there we have yet to come up with a negative about this place. Friendly and attentive folks at the front desk are ready to answer things to do and where to go questions.

Room Tip: Stop by the grocery store before you check in. The closest food & drink is in town. They have fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorywing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
0.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
13.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
22.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
474 reviews
13.5 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shore Inn

Property: Bay Shore Inn
Address: 4205 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our condominium suites have private decks to take in the breath taking views over the bay. 1-3 bedroom suites all have full kitchens with granite counters and living rooms with HD TVs and a sleeper sofa. We have a beach with complimentary kayaks and boats, bonfire pit, bikes, tennis courts, basketball, playground, fitness center and game room. We have a heated indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, and massage therapist on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Shore Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Bay Shore Resort
Bay Shore Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing