We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!”
Review of Bay Shore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Shore Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have stayed in several different places throughout Door County, but this is by far the best place yet. It is quiet with all rooms, which are suites, all have views of the bay. It was more comfortable with added amenities of overstuffed chairs and footstool. The very best was the modest price giving a sense of luxury at family friendly price.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vweiss923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Bay Shore Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Initially I was disappointed that I was unable to find lodging in Egg Harbor however when I pulled into the Bay Shore Inn, I was immediately wowed by the beauty of it. The grounds are well cared for and it is so inviting. Our suite, # 305 was in the north building and was clean and comfortable. I didn't want to leave the room and the view, amazing. The bed was comfortable. I simply can't say enough good things about the resort. Friendly and helpful staff. We traveled north to the little towns as far as Sister Bay and am even more thankful that I chose to stay in Sturgeon Bay. As other reviewers have noted there are more stores and a Walmart, Target and large grocery store. Sad to leave and will be back to Bay Shore Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I searched the Door Cty visitor guide for a place to stay in Sturgeon Bay and found The Bay Shore Inn. It was a great choice! We had room 312. The room was beautiful and had a view of the bay.
The grounds are well kept, & there is a small beach which we enjoyed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Only one small problem the indoor pool is in the north bldg. and we were in the south bldg. The next time we will ask for a room in the north bldg. We wished that we could stay another week, we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the bay. The end rooms look over the bay and are the largest.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed here during the weekend of the Door County Century. It was conveniently located on the bike route. The grounds are beautiful and quiet. We enjoyed both pools and the hot tub. We did not have time to take a boat on the lake. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with a view of the lake. The deck was a good size and we had a gate off the deck so we could easily load and unload our cars. Each room had its own air conditioning unit which was nice but I found the one in my bedroom to be very noisy. My bed was way too soft and I found the mattress lumpy. My sister also found her bed to be too soft and lumpy but she did not think the air conditioning was too loud. Given the uncomfortable bed and loud air conditioning I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayshoredoorcounty, Manager at Bay Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry you did not like our mattresses. If we can correct an issue for a guest we would and we do listen to all comments so thank you for your honesty, we do appreciate it. I don't want to sound defensive but honestly we get so many compliments on our brand new Beautyrest World Class Euro top mattresses that we keep handouts at our front desk because so many guests love these soft foam top mattresses and want the details on where to buy one for themselves. So while we aim to please everyone, not everyone likes the same type mattresses. We also have replaced almost all our A/C units in every suite hoping the new models were quieter, I will look into whether the A/C units in your suites have been replaced. We pride ourselves on making sure your vacation at The Bay Shore Inn is quiet and relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Bay Shore Inn for our anniversary after reading several reviews on tripadvisor. It is a great place to stay! We stayed in a room closest to the parking lot and at first I was afraid we wouldn't have a good water view but the view was still great. I honestly wish I could live in that room! Huge windows in the living room part, a great kitchen fully equipped with everything you need, a spacious bed room with a huge bed, AND a whirlpool tub?! Can I stay forever?? It was also very quiet. There was hardly anyone around! We had the pool all to ourselves! So great. Wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophadoph139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I actually jumped up and down when we arrived in our suite. We splurged and had a second floor double room on the corner with bay view. Oh my word I've never stayed anywhere like it. There were only 3 of us and we actually lost each other! We travelled with our teenage daughter and she loved having her own space. Kitchen was well equipped and we had a sunset evening 'at home' nipping down to the beach as the sky became red, and lighting a bonfire as the sun disappeared; amazing photo opportunities. We mostly had the beach to ourselves and likewise the kayaks and pedallo. If I'm being picky the bikes were disappointing - cruisers, and a bit past their prime. We had a great ride with hired bikes at Peninsular State Park anyway. Also picky they don't supply coffee like hotel rooms but you can buy bags at reception or at Walmart which is just over a mile away. Everything else was perfect and we didn't want to leave.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Girlystargang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband, son, and I have found our new home away from home. We have traveled the world and this is the best resort we have ever stayed in. We loved it so much we decided to stay one extra day because we were not ready to leave. Beautiful view, the rooms were beyond our expectations, and the ammenities were above and beyond. We tried the free kayaks and row boats and spent a lot of time at both the indoor and outdoor pools. My son also loved playing at the beach. We even shared a campfire with another family. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a great homebase to drive everywhere in Door County but be close to a Walmart to pick up those items you have forgotten to pack. Bay Shore Inn is so quiet and secluded we really felt like we were truly on vacation. I could go on forever about how great the Bay Shore Inn is. We will be staying here again and I will recommend it to all of my family and friends heading to Door County.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlinFamily_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
0.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
13.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
22.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#3 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
518 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
18.9 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shore Inn

Address: 4205 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $89 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our condominium suites have private decks to take in the breath taking views over the bay. 1-3 bedroom suites all have full kitchens with granite counters and living rooms with HD TVs and a sleeper sofa. We have a beach with complimentary kayaks and boats, bonfire pit, bikes, tennis courts, basketball, playground, fitness center and game room. We have a heated indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, and massage therapist on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Shore Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Bay Shore Resort
Bay Shore Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing