We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimz Galley Cafe

Kimz Galley Cafe
Ranked #35 of 85 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Okay, I visit Sturgeon Bay because of family. My father's favorite meal is breakfast, so he always wants to go out. He took me to Kimz; I was hooked! The reason I title mine "SHHHHHHHHH" is because I shouldn't write this review, but I believe giving credit where credit is due. I know others will visit, but I have to get the word out that this is the best breakfast spot in all of Sturgeon Bay! Very friendly staff in this old house (limited seating; some tables outside) made into a small rest. Homemade bread baked daily; makes excellent toast! Great menu; everything is fresh (quiche, yogurt parfait, fruit), eggs anyway you want'em. If you like biscuits & gravy, definitely order a side of it to go w/the rest of your breakfast. Best oatmeal I've ever had! They make you feel so welcome, you have to get your own coffee; self serve. I've had plenty of breakfasts in Sturgeon Bay w/dad, ever since he took me to Kimz, we don't eat breakfast any place else. Now dad will probably wonder why so many new customers are visiting his best kept secret, so ask your waitress if Warner is there and if he is, please tell him thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service in Sturgeon Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been unsuccessfully searching for a good place for lunch in Sturgeon Bay for years; one that had special food at a fair price. We have found it at Kimz. Wonderful food, very friendly staff, close walking distance to downtown attractions. Perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
178 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quaint, Original, home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Renovated older Sturgeon Bay house is home to this unique local resturant. Not a big place, but worth the effort to find. Everything is home-made from scratch and is excellent every time. Service could be improved a little. Beautiful little place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mabarley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
262 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Local, Fresh Ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Kimz is a gem. I'm a local, and it is my FAVORITE place to lunch in Sturgeon Bay! The ingredients are always fresh, and she buys local as much as possible. I've never had anything on the menu that wasn't fantastic. My all-time favorite is the Door County cherry chicken salad wrap. Nummy! My kids say she makes the best grilled cheese EVER. I know, a simple sandwich, but she takes it to a new level. Breakfast is always spectacular. The restaurant is tiny but oh so charming! I can't recommend Kimz enough!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best home made breakfast you will find!! WIll never go wrong here!! Price and service is the best.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimz Galley Cafe also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Kimz Galley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing