We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of John Martin's Restaurant - CLOSED

John Martin's Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in downtown Sturgeon Bay on Historic Third Avenue in beautiful Door County, Wisconsin. Choose to dine at the bar, at a bistro table along the sidewalk or relax on a cushioned chair in the cozy wood floor dining room. Large photos focusing on the history of Sturgeon Bay pepper the restaurant. The new chef has a strong bent on creativity and local sourcing. His philosophy for features is "Familiar enough to be comfortable but exotic enough to be exciting." The focus is on local and fresh (organic features, and appetizers, in season) is apparent, and when blended with the passion of the staff, it is becoming a foodie destination. We will work with any and all dietary restrictions or food allergies. Ask about "Chefs Choice" options. Call for reservations or a chef consultation for that special occasion.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had dinner here. The staff here is very friendly and are obviously proud of the place where they work. They give good food and wine recommendations. We absolutely loved the flatbread pizza! We ordered the fig prosciutto to share as an appetizer, yum! Our dinners were very nice, but that flatbread pizza was our favorite part of the meal! Everything on the dessert menu sounded amazing, I wish we had had room to try them all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We hadn't read any reviews before going. We weren't sure what to it expect based on the outside of the building. Inside the decor was great and everything was extremely clean. We were there at about 3pm on a Thursday so it was not at all busy. We had great service and the food was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GBTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsabo1, Manager at John Martin's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience at John Martin's. Please come back next time you are in our neck of the woods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We felt like we were in a neighborhood restaurant and we were regular customers from the minute we walked in. Turned out our waitress had worked at a place 4 blocks form our home in Milwaukee! She was quick to make suggestions, the menu had delicious choices at various price points. Portions were reasonable, large but not overwhelmingly so. they have their own pastry chef, so save room for dessert!

1  Thank reb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsabo1, Manager at John Martin's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We are so happy to hear you were made to feel comfortable and as if you were "regulars" at John Martin's. The experience our customer's have here is very important to us and we really try to provide excellent customer service to everyone that visits us. Also very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. Chef TJ is amazing at what he does and it's always nice to get feedback. Please come and see us again the next time you visit Door County!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here. He had the Gnocchi with pesto sauce and he liked it. We both had chili, it was good, but I prefer my chili the usual way. I was told by our server that it's sweet and spicy, I thought it sounded interesting so I wanted to try it. It was a nice restaurant and the owner was pleasant. Our server was great, but the lady who was tending the bar took some time to make my drink when the place is near closing and we were the only ones there. Maybe she had more important things to do. Other than that, we had a pleasant experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beachballonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsabo1, Manager at John Martin's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to review us! We are happy you had a positive experience here and really hope you will come back and see us again the next time you are in Door County! We also appreciate the feedback on the bartender delay. Please know that we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and there is NEVER anything more important to do here than to service our customers. We are grateful for the comment and know that it hasn't fallen on deaf ears. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a very well-run restaurant - owner (I think) was sitting at the bar and spoke as we entered. We were quickly seated and had drinks served. The server was really helpful in helping me select what to order - the fact that they make their own pasta helped with my decision, and it was delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HomeAgain50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsabo1, Manager at John Martin's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to review John Martin's! We enjoy hearing from our customers and learning what we are doing right and where we need improvement. Your comments are very encouraging and we are grateful. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Martin's Restaurant also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing