We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General Manager Does Not Understand Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Racine, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“General Manager Does Not Understand Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

While the facilities are very nice & the breakfast bar good if you plan on using the pool facility with children DO NOT STAY HERE.

We had a family gathering and we all stayed here because there were 9 kids, 6 of them under the age of 5 and 14 Adults and we thought it would be nice for the kids to be able to swim in the evening. How wrong were we...Starting at 7 PM, the pool hours go to 10 PM for kids, we were repeatedly harrased by the front desk clerk & told to be quiet. We were not involved in any horse-play or screaming there were just about 30 people in the pool area. The pool area is basically a giant echo chamber so even if we alll wispered it would be loud with 30 people in the facility.

We were told by the front desk clerk that she had to use sensitive phones so we had to be quiet, we were also told that people in the lobby were having a hard time concentrating, but when we went into the lobby, multiple times, there was no one there and we could not hear anything but a slight mumble coming from the pool. We were also told that children could not use the hot tub, but when asked where those rules were posted they could not be produced because they did not exist. When pressed the front desk clerk told me that kids in the hot tub made her nervous. She came back about 1/2 an hour later to tell the pool area that we needed to be quiet again, even though we were all just talking in normal inside voices.

We also watched the front desk clerk harrass the group that had rented the party room which is adjacent to the pool area and tell them that they need to keep their crying 1 year old quite because he was annoying people in the lobby, people that did not exist.

Earlier in the evening one of the grandmas that was with our group was sitting in the lobby watching TV and she got up and turned the TV volume down, because it was extremely loud. As she was returning to the couch the front desk clerk came running around the counter and told her not to touch the TV and that she had to turn the volume down with the remote, which she then did to an inaudible level.

When we communicated the events that occured the night of October 20, 2007 to the General Manager Alan Duessler he suggested that we stay at the Super 8 Motel just down the road the next time we visit Door County! I'm not sure where Mr. Duessler learned about customer service, but I suggest that if you are traveling with childer DO NOT STAY at the AmericInn in Sturgeon Bay only because of the management of this hotel.

  • Liked — The Breakfast Bar
  • Disliked — The General Manager Alan Duessler
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa_Hogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asbdoor, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, responded to this review, July 2, 2008
This guest was drunk and belligerent in the pool area. He was extremely rude to my staff and other guests. We have written complaints about him and his children during his stay. Unfortunately due to his intoxication he does not vividly remember the incident fully. The management tried to satisfy his needs, but he was totally unreasonable. As you can see from our other reviews, the AmericInn of Sturgeon bay is a warm and welcoming place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    73
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
90
115
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iola, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

Our guest room was very clean and comfortable. We were pleased that we were able to bring our dog with us. Patty at the front desk went out of her way to make sure our stay would be memorable. Thank you very much and we will be back!

  • Liked — Pet Friendly
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnerindaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
656 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

I had never heard of this chain, but I took a chance anyway. Very nice choice. Almost new place, clean, well maintained, and easy to find. Our room was in perfect condition, and the maid staff kept asking if there was anything they could do for us---imagine that. The laundry equipment worked well -we were on a two week trip. Breakfast was bland and not too inspiring but I expect that nowadays. Wife appreciated the elevator. I bet this is a great place in the winter due to the big fireplace. Give it a try next time you are in Door County.

  • Liked — Just a nice place to be
  • Disliked — Breakfast needed improvement---------tasteless, bland, cheap. Gotta be a better way.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Impala guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2005

My wife and I spent the night at the AmericInn and we really enjoyed it. The room and staff were excellent! We will definately stay there again.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
16.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
17.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Address: 622 S Ashland Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-3844
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Sturgeon Bay welcomes you to Door County. We are conveniently located at the first intersection in Sturgeon Bay, Door County. Enjoy our free Hot, Enhanced Perk Breakfast Buffet every morning. Enjoy new 32" HD LCD televisions while relaxing in your quiet guest rooms or take a dip in our warm pool & spa. We are now partners with Anytime Fitness to meet the increased demand of our active guests. We look forward to welcoming you to the end of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Sturgeon Bay
Americinn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Americinn Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Americinn Sturgeon Bay
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing