We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlimited Wine Tasting”

Door Peninsula Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of Carlsville (10 miles north of Sturgeon Bay), Door Peninsula Winery offers a full tasting experience. Enjoy Samples of all wines offered by Door Peninsula Winery daily. Sample gourmet foods like Cherry Wine Cheese, homemade fudge, mustards, jellies, salsa and more. Fat Louie's Olive Oils & Vinegars are also available for sample & purchase. Tour the winery production area for only $3 per person. Visit Door County Distillery, attached to the winery, for samples of Award-Winning Gin, Vodkas, Brandies & Whiskey.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unlimited Wine Tasting”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Love that this winery didn't limit the wine tasting! They have a tone of choices and it was nice to get to sample all of the ones we were interested in! Arrived around 11:00 on a Saturday, and the place was pretty busy, but they had several people behind the tasting bar and we never had to wait long for service. They all were able to answer basic questions, and made sure anyone who came up to the bar understood their sampling menu. Also liked the oil tasting they had, and the other gourmet snack food items. Nice way to round out the wine sampling!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurasan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoorPenWinery, Public Relations Manager at Door Peninsula Winery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for stopping in on Saturday and we are glad to hear you had a fun time with all the sampling!! We hope to see you back here real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    116
    38
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite winery in Door County”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Bistro 42 has great food. We enjoyed the gift shops and sampling at both the winery and distillery. Definitely worth stopping!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoorPenWinery, Public Relations Manager at Door Peninsula Winery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
So glad to hear we are your favorite one in Door County! Thanks for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you back here real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite winery in Door County!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My mother and I visited here last summer and stopped by at every winery there is across Door County. By far, this is our favorite winery in Door County. The bartenders were very nice and they just keep on pouring until we were ready to leave! To this day, we continue to buy wines from Door Peninsula very often from grocery stores. Definitely recommended to visit in the Fall time :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoorPenWinery, Public Relations Manager at Door Peninsula Winery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your kind words! We are happy to hear you say we are your favorite. And yes, fall is one of the best times to stop at the winery! We hope to see you back here real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was my second distillery and first winery tour. Not a big fan of wine, but this was good stuff. Not enough to make me a wine convert, but it was enjoyable. The distillery end of it was good. The vodka is awesome. Very smooth, with what I can only describe as a peppery 'backdraft'. It's a good, albeit weird, feeling. You swallow, and a couple seconds later you feel this warmth rise up into your nose. LOL It felt like it opened the airway in my nose. It's that sensation of when you take congestion meds and they kick in and you can breathe. Not sure how to really describe the experience. The gin reminds me (and just making a comparison to a gin I love) of Bombay Sapphire, only a tad smoother. There are also different dipping oils and things like that to try. It's well worth the experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoorPenWinery, Public Relations Manager at Door Peninsula Winery, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stop at the winery ... and we enjoyed your descriptions of the spirits at the distillery! We look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Okay place, unlimited free wine tastings!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is kind of feels cold- not very personable. Our tour guide was exactly that- just reciting his lines and not leaving time for questions. Good thing is the variety of wines (and unlimited free tasting!) as well as the rest of the gift shop type items all in one space. Stop here, but keep on moving throughout the peninsula for more personable experiences.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ringerdog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoorPenWinery, Public Relations Manager at Door Peninsula Winery, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are glad you liked the wines we had for you to sample. We appreciate all of your comments to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door Peninsula Winery also viewed

 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Door Peninsula Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing