We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience- wine just okay”

Door Peninsula Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of Carlsville (10 miles north of Sturgeon Bay), Door Peninsula Winery offers a full tasting experience. Enjoy Samples of all wines offered by Door Peninsula Winery daily. Sample gourmet foods like Cherry Wine Cheese, homemade fudge, mustards, jellies, salsa and more. Fat Louie's Olive Oils & Vinegars are also available for sample & purchase. Tour the winery production area for only $3 per person. Visit Door County Distillery, attached to the winery, for samples of Award-Winning Gin, Vodkas, Brandies & Whiskey.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience- wine just okay”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Take the tour only 20 minutes and $3. 6-8 free wine samples. Wine was all very fruity. Those with experienced palettes wouldn't be overly impressed with selection. The distillery was cool, a little tough to put down samples of whiskey, brandy, and vodka but a neat experience overall.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsather32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    122
    41
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth a stop...yet not a show stopper”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently began a 4-stop tour at the Door Peninsula Winery and Distillery. The building is large and airy with high ceilings and plenty of sunlight. You can see the distillery equipment, although you cannot tour it.

The distillery tasting was $5 for 3 tastings of your choice. It was fun trying their distilled beverages and one of our small group made a purchase. The drawback is that the tasting is done at the counter with the registers...not a great situation.

The wine tasting is done in a separate area. It was free and included about 5 choices. This area was very crowded when we arrived, but it worked out. The servers were friendly and helpful. We wound up buying several bottles of decent wine.

As I said, this was our first stop of the day. Looking back, it was very average compared to Stone's Throw and Simon Creek. Still, if you're in the area, give it a try for yourself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best In Door County”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Door Peninsula was our second stop on the winery tour. After visiting all the others we went back to purchase additional wine and ate dinner at Bistro 42. Door Peninsula has a large wine selection and liquor distillery as part of their business, you can do tastings of all products. DP also has a large gift shop and store area with local items. Defiantly our favorite Winery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank station8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check out the Distillery!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The distillery is $5 for three tastings (choose from cherry gin, apple gin, luminous vodka, single malt whiskey...). The wine and fudge and olive oils are free to try as many as you'd like! Great stop on the way to any Door County destination.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lots of variety - wines, olive oils, liquors, decorations!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had been here about five years ago when it was just a winery, and enjoyed the tour and wine tastings very much. Now they've expanded more than double, incorporating an oil tasting bar from local oileries, their own wine tastings, a restaurant, and a distillery. The wines are about half grape-based, and half fruit-based. I mostly enjoy sweeter wines - and there was an abundance of them to choose from! After picking up a bunch of wines, we headed over to the new distillery - for $5 tried (3) of their liquors, and kept a DC Distillery shot glass - quite a deal! We had apple brandy, cherry brandy, gin, vodka, cherry vodka, and single malt whisky.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank acmendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door Peninsula Winery also viewed

 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Door Peninsula Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing