We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor tour guide”

Door Peninsula Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of Carlsville (10 miles north of Sturgeon Bay), Door Peninsula Winery offers a full tasting experience. Enjoy Samples of all wines offered by Door Peninsula Winery daily. Sample gourmet foods like Cherry Wine Cheese, homemade fudge, mustards, jellies, salsa and more. Fat Louie's Olive Oils & Vinegars are also available for sample & purchase. Tour the winery production area for only $3 per person. Visit Door County Distillery, attached to the winery, for samples of Award-Winning Gin, Vodkas, Brandies & Whiskey.
Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor tour guide”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have visited several Wisconsin wineries and have always enjoyed the tours - this particular one was quite disappointing. It seemed his only purpose was to get us through the tour as fast as possible so we could go to the tasting room. We watched a few minute long video and he talked a little about the process, then showed us a little about their new distillery. He had very little personality and I felt the tour was a waste of our time - luckily we had a coupon and did not have to pay for it.
We did enjoy the wines made here but could have gone without the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    121
    38
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best winery in Door County!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I did the wine trail this past weekend. This was our favorite winery. Huge selection, and tastings. They also had fudge and olive oils to sample. Great way to start our weekend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get Small Escape for Parents”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After almost a week of no "Adult Only" time we decided to have the older kids watch their younger siblings while mom and I went to explore the winery. We were in heaven with the wall to wall wines, flavored olive oils and even spirits. We had a 30 minute wait until the next tour so we made our way through the shelves of bottled bliss, we decided to taste a few. I say a few, but there are so many to choose from, it turned into a few more.

The winery is very well maintained and offers a Bistro a few days a week in the off season. I like traveling in the off season as I can't stand long lines, inconsiderate people and feel much more relaxed avoiding those types of high stress situations. The winery tasting area was a great refuge, we enjoyed sampling international award winning wines and couldn't leave without six bottles of their work.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The tour was quick and flowed well. We learned a lot about wine and sipped our full glasses as we toured the winery. Both my wife and I felt very relaxed and even joined the wine club to ensure we take time to relax and remember our visit every other month when our two bottles arrive. The winery also offers discounts and related promotions so with such a broad variety of wines to choose from, anyone will find something they like and will certainly find themselves taking home a few "souvenirs" of their own :-)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GotTheShotPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Wine and Free Tasting”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This winery has many flavors of wine, port, and liquor. I'm impressed that the tastings are free and don't have a limit. There are so many good flavors. I recommend the Wedding Wine. We ended up bying 6 bottles - and saving 10%. The building is beautiful with a water feature. They carry many other trinkets and wine accessories as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Free tastings! How can you go wrong!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Every time we come to Door County we visit Door Peninsula. They expanded the winery to include a vodka distillery, and they also now make gin and brandy as well. All tasting samples are complimentary! The wine is very good and they have many different types to choose from! We usually walk away with about 6 bottles or so to bring back home!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HawFlower12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door Peninsula Winery also viewed

 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Door Peninsula Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing