We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food we ever ate”
Review of Bistro 42 - CLOSED

Bistro 42
Price range: $4 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bistro 42 welcomes you to visit and taste a food experience like no other. Located at Door Peninsula Winery in Carlsville, you will find a classy, yet casual dining experience. Our menu features exceptionally fresh and local ingredients, complex flavors and simple decorative style. Each plate is designed around Door Peninsula Winery's award-winning wines, Door County Distillery's spirits, Shipwrecked's hand-crafted beers, and Fat Louie's flavorful Oils & Vinegars. Fully experience Door County flavors paired with or incorporated into familiar and unique dishes.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst food we ever ate”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had the Game Hen Gone Loco and Beef Bourguignon. My husband is a retired Chef and he said this was a complete disgrace. We could not eat it. It was the worst meal we have ever ate. They should be ashamed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsupershopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoorPenWinery, Public Relations Manager at Bistro 42, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your disapproval with the food selection you experienced during your visit to Bistro 42. We will surely take your comments and use them to ensure the best quality and care is put into all of our prepared dishes. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    13
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed lunch at the Bistro before visiting the winery and distillery. The menu had a nice variety of options and the food was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoorPenWinery, Public Relations Manager at Bistro 42, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Glad you liked your lunch here at Bistro 42! We hope you come back and have another good meal here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classy, but comfortable with interesting wine inspired food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The fried mac and cheese was a goid place to start, we are in America's dairyland. Nicely prepared, with that perfect crust on the outside. We would have liked a little more cheese. The " game hen gone loco" was tender with a little plum sauce complimenting it well, this served over fresh julienne veggies and mashed potatoes. The sriraco braised pork shank was tender and had good flavor, but we were thinking that more fall "off the bone" would have added a lot. I would send you here on a trip to Door county.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmaster109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoorPenWinery, Public Relations Manager at Bistro 42, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit and had a good time sampling some of our culinary choices! We hope to see you back here real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have dined at Bistro 42 three times this summer, twice for lunch and once for dinner. All of our guests truly enjoyed their meals, I love the mushroom strudel and a glass of wine. While the portions aren't 'pack your face in WI' size, my husband and one our guests who have healthy appetites were satisfied. It is worth the stop on your way north to the rest of the county. Sitting outside on the deck is relaxing, but they could use a few tables that can seat six. The ambiance is peaceful and kids who have GOOD restaurant manners would be fine, but it is not really family dining even though the dress is resort casual.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joangoodcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food is wonderful but don't come hungry!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I ate here while visiting the Door County Winery (the winery, Door County Distillery and Bistro 42 are all in the same building) and thought the food was very good and the wait staff was nice. However, if you come hungry you will be very disappointed. The portion size here is ridiculously small...yeah, yeah I know it says Bistro in the name which is not typically associated with large portions but its the only real place around for lunch in the immediate area. The prices were fine but I think they just scaled down proportionately with the amount of food you were served. Taste is great but give me more than five bites of salmon please!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCBLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 42 also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing