We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter romantic getaway!”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Reviewed December 30, 2008

We just returned from two nights at this cozy waterfront hotel. Our suite was fabulous with a jacuzzi that had large windows all around and looked out over the water. Wonderful two-sided fireplace and decorating was really done well - there was even a Christmas tree in the living room. A spiral staircase goes up to a third floor sitting area. The owner was extremely accomodating even sending over some tea and chicken soup the one morning when I wasn't feeling well. We stayed in room 202. There are some younger people helping with the cleaning and booking, so this could be the reason for some inconsistencies, but they all seemed very nice and helpful. Highly recommended and their winter rate was only $119 per night.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisconsinDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

I have never written a review before, but after my first wedding anniversary was ruined here, I felt it was time to say something. We arrived late at night and when we got up to our room and opened the door, a huge cat came walking out. I am allergic to them, so I was displeased to see this. That displeasure turned to horror when I smelled the poop the cat left behind. Apparently the cat follows the cleaning people and they locked him in there. Upon complaining we were "upgraded" to the room next door which had a full kitchen. The dishes were dirty, there was a cork still in the corkscrew, and about 20 flies shared the space with us. The upstairs pull out bed was still messy. Overall it felt like a disgusting place. Not exactly the romantic getaway we were hoping for our one year anniversary. We ended up leaving a day early and counting our losses. I would not recommend this place to anyone. The only nice thing was the jaccuzi tub which we used both nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Our family spent three days at Snug Harbor (Aug. '08) The suite itself was very comfortable---big master bedroom with whirlpool tub overlooking the bay, double-sided fireplace. My twenty-something kids slept on pull-out couches, one in the living room and one in the loft. The suite also had a kitchenette, dining table, and balcony which overlooked the water. Very picturesque setting. My only complaint is that the housekeeping of the property is a bit on the shoddy side. There is some junk lying around the yard, the main office is pretty messy and the suite itself, although nicely decorated and roomy, could have been cleaner. The maids were young--college-age types--very nice but not too picky. Found plenty of crumbs, wrappers, etc. under the bed---not vacuumed in between guests. It looked like they just gave whatever was visible the once over. I'm pretty easily grossed out by dirty hotels and it wasn't so bad that I was uncomfortable. However, for the money we paid during the high season it should have been cleaner. Being directly on the water is a big plus for this place. Your view is a harbor of sailboats. Very pretty.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Two days after booking our stay by telephone, we received a phone call asking us which dates we had reserved because they couldn't understand the information their employee had written. We were then told that our rate was $179/night instead of $149/night. The management was unwilling to honor the rate as agreed upon at the original booking, even though it was entirely their employee's mistake. The management's position was "Take it or leave it."

Why we, the customer, were expected to pay for their mistake is simply beyond my comprehension. Definitely a "Terrible" experience.

Thank you Snug Harbor Inn for ruining our family vacation plans!!

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank Really_Bummed_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Stayed for one night in suite 201 on second floor...one flight of outside stairs up. Large beautiful room in blue with jacuzzi and a private porch overlooking bay. Total with tax $185. has kitchen which we didn't use. Very clean. Enjoyed jacuzzi and porch. Queen bed comfortable. There is a winding staircase to third floor with a double bed and porch with view. The only thing keeping this from being excellent is towels are hard and thin and coffee table badly chipped and air confditioner rattled. I"m sorry we didn't think to bring to attention of owners the air conditioner problem as they are very attentive to guest needs. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ednat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Snug Harbor is right on the bay. The room was nicely decorated and very spacious. Our suite was on the 2nd floor w/a balcony, the view was great. We sat out there in the morning and evening.

The appliances in the kitchen were full size. There was a fireplace between the living room and the bedroom. The hot tub in the bedroom was surronded by windows overlooking the bay. The bathroom was huge and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarge63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
24.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
852 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 18 in Sturgeon Bay
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
249 reviews
16.4 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
346 reviews
20.8 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 1627 Memorial Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snug Harbor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Snug Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Snug Harbor Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing