We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with my family. It was very family friendly and at a nice location, right on e water and close enough to town shops. The workers were very nice that we came across and it was a very clean and delightful place. I would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in sturgeon bay.

Room Tip: Any if the rooms are nice, if you're staying with a bigger group or for a longer time, choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

The only thing going for the Little Harbor "Port" Cottage is the location. The water and views are spectacular. That's about it. Very run down, terrible mattress, grill missing parts, no swing, one sofa bed, no other seating the living room. You get one roll of toilet paper - so if you use more you will have to go and get it in Sturgoen Bay at the office. Bathroom is falling apart. If you don't have very high expectations this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The pictures on the website are better than the site itself. It is located in town near traffic.
The suite we stayed in was overpriced at $150 a night. The wind blew through the door and it was cold. The inside was clean, but rather drab. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee to make. The couch was dirty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spaxton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My Mom, myself and my 18 month old son stayed at Snug Harbor Inn in Cottage #3 for 4 days while staying door county this fall. We had a great experience with this family owned establishment. The cottage was clean and the staff were very helpfu. We arrived late at night and they waited up for us and left the lights on in the cottage. We always had towels and mints upon our return from our daily adventures. It was reasonably priced and our comfort and service didn't suffer because of it. Thank you for the great accomodations we will stay again!
Becky

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Snug Harbor Inn in Sturgeon Bay, WI. We spent some time driving up into Door County and then returned to Sturgeon Bay for a relaxing stay at the Snug Harbor Inn on the water. The accommodations were nice, clean and comfortable. The directions to find it were a bit confusing. Because we wanted to be on the water (Sturgeon Bay), it suited us. Enjoyed walking across the street to the bar in "The Lodge at Leathem Smith".

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BKW0056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Attention to detail. That's what's missing. From the moment I inquired about a reservation, I had to pursue the answers to the most basic questions. It took three e-mails to get a response that gave me enough information to know if they wanted a check, or took credit cards, or preferred a bag of dubloons at check-in, perhaps. After we determined that I could give them a credit card, I asked if they'd e-mail me some directions- twice was told sure, no problem. Never got any. Thanks, MapQuest. Upon checking in at their property in Sturgeon Bay and receiving the keys for the "Port" cottage, we drove up to the cottage. Upon arriving, we quickly saw what a great location they have with the cottages being right on the bay in Little Harbor. Right at the gateway to all that Door County has to offer. While the three cottages they own are a little close together, we were lucky that the "Midship" cottage next to ours was never rented the 4 days we were there, so it was as private as it could be. All the potential for a fabulous getaway- but then that darn attention to detail thing came back to the forefront. While it only took us about 5 minutes (it's a small cottage) to wipe down the cabinets to remove whatever was all over them (pizza sauce, I hope) and the swing-lid garbage can (covered with all the goop that was dropped into it without opening the lid before dropping). I kinda wished I hadn't had to do that. The same person or persons who missed all the gunk we cleaned up also missed all the dead flies and other bugs that riddle the windowsills. But there's no vacuum or Dust Buster and I didn't feel like spreading all of their little carcasses across the window sill, so I left well enough alone. Thank god we brought some paper towel, because there was none to be found in the cottage. Not a big deal- but, again, another little detail. And we also left all the spider web/fuzzy stuff that was in the corners of the rooms- floor-to-ceiling. And the dock that presumably used to be in the bay is sitting crooked and kittywampus on the shore as nothing more than an eyesore obstructing a fantastic view of Green Bay- looks like something a couple of guys with a couple of Sawzalls or a torch could have apart and gone in a morning. And, speaking of carcasses, the same inept cleaning crew obviously never went outside of the cottage when they were there barely cleaning, or they would have noticed the dead whatever-it-used-to-be carcass that was laying just off the deck. Not fresh kill, either. Now, we all know that you get what you pay for. At $135/night, you can reasonably expect some deferred maintenance (bent, broken blinds- de-laminating cabinet doors and chairs, rotting window sills, etc.) and not be surprised by an oppressively uncomfortable mattress. But attention to the detail of cleanliness is cheap, if not free. They must have a crew who cleans for them- just not a good one, it seems. Too bad, because they have a great spot that would be a definite return trip for us (and a lot of others, I'd guess, based on some of the other reviews) if they'd just pay a little more attention.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RJLKAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

`Th price was right, the reservation made over the phone was a friendly voice but it did not live up to the pictures or the location advertised. We went to Snug Harbor and our cottage was 14 miles away. The directions to the cottage were very confusing. After finding the cottage, that was in a neighborhood of small houses or rental places, we looked at the outside and dreaded even going in. The wooden siding on the bottom of the place was rotting and the yard was unkempt. After we went in we found a nice living room area but there was only one window air conditioner. In the bedroom one of the windows was propped open with a paper cup. In the bathroom was a plunger next to the toilet but when the toilet began to overflow it folded in half and was rendered useless. There were dead bugs in the windowsills and when I opened the back door I was met with criss crossed cobwebs. When I found a hammer in one of the drawers I thought, Oh good, we have a weapon, in case of emergency since there was no cell phone service at all. We eventually left and went back to the main office and asked to be moved. The owner was a little disgusted with us and our complaints and said he had nothing else and gave us a full refund.

Room Tip: Drive past this hotel and find another. We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
24.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
229 reviews
16.4 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
21.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 1627 Memorial Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $75 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snug Harbor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Snug Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Snug Harbor Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing