We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Super friendly Staff - Decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, Super friendly Staff - Decent stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lodge is in good location. Entire service staff were super friendly and made us comfortable during the entire stay. Rooms were decent and clean. Breakfast was nice.
Food options were bit expensive and restaurant staff are kind of unattentive.
Overall enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sathish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyLLS2013, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent review about The Lodge at Leathem Smith and sharing your stay with us. We want our guests to feel at home and have courteous service as well as clean rooms...glad you could experience that during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanks Again,
The Staff at The Lodge at Leathem Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    58
    37
    31
    39
See reviews for
79
90
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STURGEON BAY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with the wonderful wedding reception, delicious food, comfortable and clean accomodations that Paul, Holly, Wendy, and very supportive staff provided for our families and friends for the wedding of our son and his wife. It was nothing short of WONDERFUL and memorable! Thank you, thank you!!! Everyone had a great time and it certainly was the right place to make special memories! Our captain suite was especially spacious and we were so glad that we stayed there with the wedding guests/family even though we live in town. We highly recommend folks come and make your own memories!

Room Tip: The spacious captain suite we stayed in on the ground floor was directly across from the patio. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I booked a much needed getaway and brought along our dog for his first vacation. Upon check-in the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked a dog-friendly Captain suite and wow--what a gorgeous room! Huge whirlpool tub in the bedroom, nice big living room area and kitchenette, and our room was quiet with a very pretty view. Unfortunately our otherwise well-behaved pooch left his manners at home and forgot how to be quiet, so we chose to check out early rather than disrupt any of The Lodge guests. We will definitely have a redo vacation soon at The Lodge at Leathem Smith but this time minus fido :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 814christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our group of 36 spent two to three nights there for a long weekend of sewing. Is this the newest property? No BUT my room and bathroom were spotless! Staff was very accommodating and our food was good all weekend. Look forward to returning in the fall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chzheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I just returned home from a 4-day quilt retreat sponsored by Evergreen Quilt Guild in Green Bay Wisconsin, and I can't wait to go again next year. The lodge is welcoming, the staff are phenomenal, the food outstanding, and the owners very responsive! If you want to stay somewhere with a large flat screen tv, stay home and watch tv, if you want to stay somewhere to enjoy the view outside turn the tv off, watch mother nature's glory, go to the bar get a glass of wine, chat with a bartender who seems genuinely interested in you, take a stroll on the banks of Lake Michigan and go downtown for coffee in one of the local shops. This place doesn't need updating, we vacationers need to unplug and remember what our priorities should be. Thanks for an awesome trip Paul & Holly Meleen!

Room Tip: We had a Jacuzzi suite, with a fireplace and dining room set, it was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyLLS2013, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you had such a WONDERFUL TIME during your stay. Holly and I take great pride in being able to take care of our guests personally. We look forward to having you and the other ladies return to stay with us again and again! Our staff is always excited to see your group and I will pass on your comments to the rest of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My nephews wedding was at the lodge and it is not the "in season." We were basically the only group staying at the lodge. The staff was sooooo, very attentive to all of us. From the check-in, to the bar, to the free continental breakfast omelet lady. Really great. And the food at the wedding was absolutely great. I would recommend a suite. They are lovely and spacious. The regular rooms need a bit of updating and could use a chair, more mirrors, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyLLS2013, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank You for taking time out of your day to write about your recent stay with us. We take great pride in all of the events and wedding held here at The Lodge at Leathem Smith. We have such a great staff & I am glad to hear they took great care of you and your family. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your room, our service and your meal at The Kona Fish House. We look forward to taking excellent care of you upon your return.
Best Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Four couples stayed at The Lodge for the Fall 50 Relay. weekend. The staff was friendly and the rooms pretty clean, but the place is in need of some updating. The bed, furniture and tv (~19" tube) were all showing their age. On the plus side, we enjoyed the fireplace area and continental breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GBCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review about The Lodge at Leathem Smith and sharing your observations.
We are a "work in progress" and some rooms do indeed still have the old tube style televisions. Our goal is to have all of our rooms updated with new tv sets with flat screens...
We want our guests to feel at home and have courteous service as well as clean rooms...glad you could experience that during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thanks Again,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
4.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
455 reviews
16.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
201 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
355 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Leathem Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Leathem Smith

Property: The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Address: 1640 Memorial Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1504
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Leathem Smith 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leathem Smith Lodge went out of business in 2007 and was recently purchased and reopened as The Lodge at Leathem Smith in 2011. The Lodge is the place in Door County for upscale guest rooms, impeccable Suites, fine casual dining, meetings, wedding receptions, banquets and recreational facilities tendered to their guests with great pride and attention-to-detail professionalism - all part of your ideal stay in Door County at Leathem Smith Lodge. ACCOMMODATIONS: Our many guests have found the guest rooms live up to our standard of Casual elegance at Door County's historic Lodge Resort, all at affordable rates. The Lodge guest rooms include 16 Suites... 475 Sq. Ft. Commodore (2) and First Mate (2) junior suites, 650 sq. Ft. Two-room Captain's Suites (10) and 740 sq. Ft. Two-room Admiral's Suites (2)... Are decorated with 14 different styles of Thomasville furniture and our 32 deluxe hotel rooms are furnished in Broyhill, Thomasville and American of Martinsville. Our Harborside is a one-story building which is approximately 50 yards from the main Lodge. All 15 guest rooms are accessed from interior lobbies and corridor. Each guest room has a patio to relax...'Across-the-street' view to the water.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Leathem Smith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Leathem Smith Lodge
Leathem Smith Hotel
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing