We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best: dirty, outdated and pay in full prior to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the best: dirty, outdated and pay in full prior to stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Oct 2011: We decided to finally go to Door County and ended up here based upon price. We had to pay in full prior to seeing our room. The room was small and outdated. It looked as someone's grandma decorated it ten years ago. Tube TV and moldy tiling in shower. Outside of the hotel looks new, but that is about all. The breakfast that is included allows you to go thru the line once... be prepared to wait about 30 min. Beds were very firm and sheets were scratchy. We did not eat dinner there as it was expensive and the staff at check-in were not very friendly. Despite how young we look, we're 26 and we're treated like we didn't belong. Probably won't go back to DC because that was the general vibe of everywhere minus (Casey's Smokehouse, great food). So much for our romantic weekend... wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank benesa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    60
    38
    32
    40
See reviews for
79
94
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have made reservations many places before and only gave my credit card to hold the room, but this place required payment IN FULL when I made the reservation. I had no choice about this room as we were part of a group there, but believe me I will NEVER, I repeat NEVER stay there again in a million years, nor will I ever recommend it to anyone. I can understand having to put a deposit, but not the total before even arriving.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank rebeccat214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear rebeccat214:

I am happy to report that we have changed our policy. While we still take a deposit when you make the reservation, we no longer charge the balance until the day of check out.

Thank you for your comments. We are always striving to improve, and hope you will reconsider giving us another chance to show you that OUR CUSTOMERS really do come first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturgeon Bay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Suamico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just spend a quilting weekend at the Lodge. If you need a place for your retreat this the place to stay, 50 Quilters stayed and we all had a great time. Food was superb, Service was Superb! Weekend was over too fast. Everything was neat and clean, service from staff was fantastic. We are coming back. Next Quilt retreat date April 2012 see you all then.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabeno, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This past weekend I spent 2 nights at the Lodge at Leathem Smith along with 40+ other quilters. We had a wonderful time. The accomodations were clean and neat, and the staff was more than willing to help with any of our needs. A very warm and friendly place to lay down your head. Can't wait to return in the Spring!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroldebbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I just returned from a wonderful wkend spent at the Lodge. We had a group of 50 women there to spend the weekend quilting. Paul and his lovely wife was great to us. The staff were so great to us. and the place is wonderful we had such a great time, and the food was supurb. cant wait to return, and Joe the scarecrow was a blast too...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I just spent two nights, three days at the lodge - everything was wonderful. It was first weekend of deer hunting season. Holly (owner) had to help with the cooking. The food was awesome, the staff was friendly, the service was great, everything was clean. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We only spent 1 night here. Came into town with no reservation and the visitor center directed us here. Lucky for us. It is an older place that is obviously undergoing renovations. The lobby was pretty and everywhere you went it was clean. So despite their renovating they keep this place very clean. The woman at the desk was very pleasant and quite efficient. Our room was dated but again very clean. Nothing fancy but comfortable. The bed was fine and the linens were so very soft. The breakfast is good. A very personable young man made omelets just as you desired with an assortment of ingredients. This was quite filling. We did not eat at the restaurant but the menu seemed like we would have been able to find something to eat. There is an outdoor pool that was closed of course. There are tennis courts but these have not yet been restored. There is a marina across the street so you can launch a boat or hire a charter. It was a very quiet place to be. We would definitely go back if we were in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
501 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
385 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
15.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Leathem Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Leathem Smith

Property: The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Address: 1640 Memorial Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1504
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Leathem Smith 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leathem Smith Lodge went out of business in 2007 and was recently purchased and reopened as The Lodge at Leathem Smith in 2011. The Lodge is the place in Door County for upscale guest rooms, impeccable Suites, fine casual dining, meetings, wedding receptions, banquets and recreational facilities tendered to their guests with great pride and attention-to-detail professionalism - all part of your ideal stay in Door County at Leathem Smith Lodge. ACCOMMODATIONS: Our many guests have found the guest rooms live up to our standard of Casual elegance at Door County's historic Lodge Resort, all at affordable rates. The Lodge guest rooms include 16 Suites... 475 Sq. Ft. Commodore (2) and First Mate (2) junior suites, 650 sq. Ft. Two-room Captain's Suites (10) and 740 sq. Ft. Two-room Admiral's Suites (2)... Are decorated with 14 different styles of Thomasville furniture and our 32 deluxe hotel rooms are furnished in Broyhill, Thomasville and American of Martinsville. Our Harborside is a one-story building which is approximately 50 yards from the main Lodge. All 15 guest rooms are accessed from interior lobbies and corridor. Each guest room has a patio to relax...'Across-the-street' view to the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Leathem Smith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Leathem Smith Lodge
Leathem Smith Hotel
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing