We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal”
Review of Rio Grande

Rio Grande
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Stoughton
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This place has got to be our favorite sit down restaurants in town. The family owned business boasts a menu that is authentic, flavorful and very good value. The staff is always friendly and the margaritas are wonderful. We have taken all of our Australian family there who gave it glowing reviews and wish they could take it back with them. My favorite dishes are: the Chimi Acapulco, Nachos Mexicanos, Fajitas and of course TACOS!!!

I believe they cater now as well!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheerful Setting”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed tasty fajitas and burritos at this colorful Mexican restaurant. Our party of four all liked their choices. Good salsa but I wanted to blot the grease off the complimentary chips. Plan to try it again. Cheerful staff.

Helpful?
Thank NH8081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in a Norwegian town, yes it's possible”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We love this place, a good variety of food, good margaritas, and we always have a good time. They are very attentive to their guests. I love their ACP (arrozo con pollo) - simple and delicious. Price is very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't beat it!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Fast, courteous staff, and wonderful Mexican food. Portions were almost too big. Had to take a doggy bag home. Worth the drive to Stoughton

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJRWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ole! Great food, but don't look up!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The people who own this place and the employees are the friendliest and nicest people ever! The restaurant food is very good quality! The owners need to get busy and replace the ceiling lights though as they look junky. Also, once in awhile, the chips taste like they were cooked in old grease and leave a bad aftertaste. The salsa, margaritas, and fried ice cream are great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing