We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite family vacation spot!”
Review of Crown Point Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoughton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown Point Resort
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from our 18th year family vacation at CPR. Truly my favorite spot to get away from it all. Cottages are awesome ( I think we've stayed in all 6 at some point). Clean, comfortable and completely furnished. The lake is never busy and great for skiing or tubing and swimming. Great Lake for fishing, too! Bluegills and bass right off the pier. Frank the owner is just like family and really goes out of his way to make everyone happy. Guess that's why it was our 18th year! Look forward to returning next summer. And the next.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Crown Point Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The cabins are very nice. Basic and charming, with lots of room and though put into making you feel at home. Decks are great. Lots of kayaks and the prices can't be beat. Met 3 different other families while here, all extremely nice and all had been staying here for multiple years.

Docks are great. Lots of room to dock multiple boats and pontoons. Water is about 3' deep, lots of protection on docks. Felt totally comfortable with our 23' bowrider overnight. Lake is fairly large and basically empty. Average depth of 5-25'. Quiet at night.

Frank, the owner is like showing up and having the awesome uncle letting you stay at his place. He is there for his guests. We WILL be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Crown Point Resort on Lake Kegonsa. Cabin #6 is perfect for families or groups of friends (we did both). This cottage is right on the lake and you get a fabulous view from all three levels. My sister and brother-in-law, who brought their pontoon, took the lower level bedroom (which is at lake level), so they could walk out on the dock right from their room and get on the boat in the morning. My brother-in-law was in seventh heaven with the arrangement and even caught a 30" Northern! The living room and kitchen/dining area was perfect for social gatherings. The cottage is modern, very clean and comfortable - lots of good pillows, plenty of blankets. Air conditioning works great, although you might have to turn in down a bit on lake level, as it tended to get cooler in those rooms. They don't provide paper products, but it was easy enough to pick up supplies at the Pick N' Save, which is just a few miles down the road. The Walmart is fine, but not the place for food (more like convenience store food. We got our fishing licenses there). Frank, the owner of Crown Point, was gracious, friendly and so helpful. He gives you great ideas on what to see and do and where to eat. Downtown Stoughton has several very nice shops for crafters: quilting, beading, felting, and a "chalk paint" decorating/refinishing shop. Catfish River Antiques is a wonderful antique store which has lovely mission style pottery and framed tiles, as well as three levels of very nice antiques. Take a peak at the Opera House, if you can. It is really beautiful and they have an amazing schedule of performances. Lots of very nice restaurants: Koffee Kup, Main Street Kitchen (sandwich shop across from Opera House), Deaks (try the shrimp tacos...yum!). We wish we had time to go to the Big Sky Restaurant - we heard many good things about it (next trip!). We took a side trip to Madison (barely 15 minutes away!) and New Glarus (Glarner Stube has wonderful beer and food). McFarland has lots of great supper clubs and is a very pretty little town. Thanks, Frank, for being such a fine host. We really enjoyed ourselves! Sheila and Mark

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Two lovebirds are we
A beautiful view of the trees
With all you can use Kayaks steerable with the greatest of ease
A dock to catch you n water to your knees
Fast trips to Madison and Historical Stoughton as you please
Lots of flowers to feed the bees though none to make you sneeze
Enjoy the flowers along with the breeze
Frank's there you lock out your keys
Bikes to ride for nearly free
Romantic atmosphere for hes and shes
It's all there for a very reasonable fee
-----------------------------
PS Frank was a great host very clean place, full sized appliances in small but well designed cabin felt like home, great water pressure . VERY Quiet recently remodeled and very private though close to others. CANNOT WAIT TO RETURN!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurachorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was with a large group of friends who got together at Crown Point Resort for a long weekend. We stayed in cabin #4. The cabin had 3 full bathrooms and more than enough space for our group. The accommodations were better than expected for the price.

The cabin was not only spacious, but air conditioned, clean, and well stocked. The kitchen had more than what we needed for meals. The cabin also had a DVD player, beach towels towels, and games. Guests will need to bring their own food, paper towels, toilet paper and toiletries.

The deck offered great views, and was the perfect place to relax. The only thing I found myself wishing for was a set of curtains in the East facing bedrooms and a queen bed instead of a full.

As for the staff, Frank was wonderful! He greeted us when we arrived, and was more than willing to be put to work as a group photographer.

Needless to say, I hope we return next year for a longer stay. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in Cabin 1. The landscaping is beautiful and well planned - although cabins are close together they are very private. The view of the lake from the deck is gorgeous and very relaxing! The bed was comfortable and the grounds are quiet both during the day and evening. The cabin was extremely clean and modern. I work at a B & B so I consider myself to be very critical. I am happy to report I can only say good things about Crown Point Resort. It's obvious Frank and his son take pride in their property and their jobs. Frank is very hospitable and we enjoyed our conversations with him: it seemed as if we'd known him for some time although we had just met. We would certainly recommend Crown Point Resort to anyone planning a relaxing, enjoyable time away. We are looking forward to returning and bringing more family members with next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guestillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just spent a week in cabin #2. It was very clean, quiet, and well appointed. It was a bit small for the four of us, two adults and two kids, but the price was right for this visit. I would like to book number six next time we visit, and we intend to return soon. There is good fishing off the dock for warm water species, but the hidden gem lies a few hundred yards away off the point to the east (?) and is easily reachable by kayak.
Frank was there at every turn with what ever we needed...our coffee pot was a bit clogged, and he had a new one in thirty seconds. My three year old daughter did not fit in a regular life jacket, and Frank had her one in a flash.
The grounds are pretty and nicely kept. Plenty of sand box toys in the sand box and a good slide and swing round out the playground area.
His kayaks and paddle boat are in very good shape, we did not have a chance to use the pontoon or fishing boats this time.
Frank is a great host with a beautiful spot, do your self a favor and make the call to Crown Point Resort.

Room Tip: Resort seems to be within a half hour of everything in Madison.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoughton
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Stoughton
6.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
10.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
735 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Point Resort

Address: 2030 Barber Dr, Stoughton, WI 53589-3078
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Stoughton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Stoughton
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Point Resort Hotel is a collection of 6 different size cottages located on 3000 acre Lake Kegonsa. All of the cottages are very modern and rented year round and sleep 2 to 8 persons. Only 15 minutes to downtown Madison and 5 minutes to the heart of Stoughton, Wisconsin. All have complete kitchens. wifi, decks, Weber grills. Kayaks, a paddleboat, fishing boats, and a pontoon boat are available to rent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing