We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel at this Price Range”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average Hotel at this Price Range”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We travel a quite a bit and make 90% of our rooms selections based upon TripAdvisor reviews. This is one of only a couple of times where the TripAdvisor reviews we read did not match our personal experience - the good news is it was nothing egregious.

For us this hotel was just about as average as they come - nothing was terrible, but nothing was really exceptional either.

As others have mentioned, this hotel is just a few miles from UW Stevens Point (it sits back from the road just beyond the Fleet and Farm store).

The cleanliness was what made this place so "average" for us. For example, the tub/tile floor in the bathroom were in need a of a good cleaning, or maybe just a refurbishing. The bathroom was certainly was not a total "ick, get me out of here" situation, but we have seen much better in similar hotels.

They also may have some underlying cleaning issues as well. We were there three days and two nights (all weekdays), and during our very first ride in the elevator after check-in we noticed someone had carefully placed pennies in strategic locations throughout the elevator. Basically, there was a penny in every corner of the floor, on the carpet where the doors opened, on top of picture frames, on the ledges, in the cracks, etc. They were placed so specifically that we thought it was a prank or something. We were kidding around that maybe the ghost of Alan Funt was up to something, or maybe it was some type of college psychology experiment to see who would pick them up, etc.

After coming and going for a couple of days we noticed that one or two of the pennies were gone, but most remained exactly where they were (why would someone take one but not all we asked ourselves - has to be a prank). Finally we asked the staff what the pennies in the elevator were all about, and they admitted they had not seen them, but guessed it could be their cleaning manager placing them there to test if the crew was cleaning well. If so, kudos to the manager for thinking of this, but after three days I'd say you have your answer and it is time to get them out of there and address the situation.

We never really found out exactly why they were there, but at the very least one thing is for certain, whoever was in charge of cleaning the elevator was not getting the corners, cracks or ledges -- or they were in on the prank!

Again, this is not a hotel to go running away from, but to us it was rather average so we'll explore another one in the area next time. We may be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normalite-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your story with us. We appreciate the honesty of your review. The “penny prank” will be looked into and hopefully an explanation will arise. We hope it is not “the ghost of Alan Funt”, ! Your review will help us address these cleaning issues and continue to improve our service. We have done extensive renovation, inside and outside, at the Holiday Inn Express and continue to replace and improve areas of our hotel. We have other services that we are proud to have available to our guests. Our complimentary breakfast is exceptional, offering “something for everyone” through a wide variety of breakfast items. We receive excellent reviews for our Simmons mattresses used in every room. Guests often take advantage of our fitness center, pool and free WI-FI. Every room offers additional amenities, such as LCD TV, Refrigerator and Microwave, you may not find as a standard at other hotels. We hope you might consider staying with us again in the future and look forward to an improved review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    41
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
13
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express and Suites met expectations. Stay was uneventful. Breakfast included. Rooms nice sized. Good location....just minutes to UWSP.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank widad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are happy to meet your expectations and an uneventful trip can be a “good thing.” Our staff and hotel makes every effort to make our guest’s stay comfortable, as it should be. Our breakfast offers a wide variety of items to choose from so that no one goes away hungry. We have been at this location for 8 years even before this area became fully commercially developed. The Holiday Inn Express and the newer Holiday Inn Hotel & Convention Center pair up to offer a hotel for any traveler’s needs. The Convention Center, located just across the street from the Express, is a full service hotel with an on-site restaurant and adventure pool. Hopefully the next time you stay with us we will exceed your expectations. We look forward to that time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have never have had a negative experience here at the Express. The staff is professional, knowledgeable and is friendly. The rooms are very nice, clean, and spacious. Often times, I am upgraded to a "suite" which includes a fridge, microwave and sink. There are a few restaurants within walking distance Amber Grill, Arby's, McD's, Applebees so you don't have to worry about driving anywhere. I have not used the pool so cannot comment on that. But if I travel to Point or Rapids, I would definitely stay here again. Great value for price paid. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth-Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We are honored to be referred to as “GREAT place to call home for a night.” It’s nice to hear that you have had good experiences when staying with us. Traveling for work can be inconvenient and are glad that our staff has provided quality service during your visits. Next time you stay, I hope you can take a little time for yourself and enjoy our pool! We look forward to having you “home” again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I wanted to express our positive time we had at your Hotel & Suites.
The room and bathroom was really clean, the TV had a large number of channels, and we received a free drink at the Abby Grille. Hope to stay here again when we have the opportunity.

Best Regards,

Carrie & Paul Sorvari

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Carrie & Paul,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s also great to hear that you are a Priority Club Member. This free program allows you to earn points for every stay. Then use them for a variety of rewards. The other nice thing is many hotels have welcoming gifts for members like our choice of either a BOGO free drink coupon or healthy snack. Whether you travel a little or a lot, these points never expire and continue to build up until you are ready to choose a reward. We would love to have you stay with us again. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stay at both places frequently, the Fairfield and this hotel - the Holiday Inn Express. I honestly don't know which one is better, but I have no problems with the #1 rating this has right now. I wouldn't have any problems with the Fairfield being #1 either, but the Holiday Inn Express has slightly more positives. Advantages it has over the Fairfield Inn down the road:

- Bigger standard rooms
- King rooms are standard
- Fridge and Microwave are standard
- Laundry facility is a little better
- Business Center is a separate room
- Breakfast is better and offers more variety from day to day (cinnamon rolls are amazing, pancakes, scrambled eggs, and more)
- Better temperature control in room
- More consistency from room-to-room in terms of cleanliness, lack of odors, etc...

The Fairfield Inn has the following advantages over this hotel:

- Cookies/fruit at night
- Quieter - walls are more solid
- Service is good at this hotel (Holiday Inn Express), but FFI is off the charts in service
- FFI is a Marriott - more brands for frequent travelers who stay a lot
- Decor is slightly better

All other things are about equal - pool, workout room, parking, proximity to town's restaurants, etc...

What is clear is that these 2 hotels mentioned are above the rest. The Holiday Inn and Conference Center is nice, too, but I would say these two (Holiday Inn and Fairfield Inn) are the best I've stayed at in Stevens Point. (haven't tried the Comfort Inn or Country Inn & Suites yet)

Room Tip: Surprisingly, the rooms closer to the middle of the hotel are better than the ends, as the stairwell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buddy_and_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We greatly appreciate your business to the local area. We are pleased to be compared to another recognizably top rated competitive hotel. We are proud of our additional amenities and facilities not always offered at other hotels. Our breakfast stands above all others and we’re glad you choose to take advantage of it when you stay. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms. The housekeeping and maintenance department work diligently to maintain a high standard of operations. We have many frequent guests who appreciate our high standards for accommodation and service. Thank you for being one of them. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel for week. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. I really appreciated that the front desk staff were so nice at both check-in and check-out. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rahoffma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us. The front desk staff is the heart of our hotel. They know that traveling can be inconvenient sometimes. That is why we greet our guests with a warm and friendly smile. We know that you made a choice to stay with us and really appreciate your business. Our housekeeping staff does an excellent job keeping our rooms and public areas clean and organized. In the end, a great stay relies on each department doing their job with great care and quality. We are excited to hear you will stay with us in the future. As always, we will be here to welcome you with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed here on the night of April 16. The hotel staff was great. The hotel is extremely clean. It is also very close to the Convention Center. The pool and hot tub area look very clean and inviting. The hotel was pretty full, but did not here a thing in our room, except for an occasional door slam. The breakfast was great. The food was hot and there were lots to choose from. I got there early so it was not busy. Stopped by a short time later for coffee, and the room was busy, but it looked like there was plenty of food available for people. This was a great hotel and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wispr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We are glad you stayed with us. The Express & Convention Center are operated by the same management group. We are grateful to have them close together and supporting each other. Express guests are welcome to use the pool area at the convention center as well. We love to hear about people taking advantage of our breakfast. We offer a wonderful variety of food & drink so that there is “a little something” for everyone. We hope you will stay again and discovered new comforts with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevens Point hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Stevens Point
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stevens Point
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 13 in Stevens Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Stevens...
#11 of 13 in Stevens Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
Address: 1100 Amber Ave, Stevens Point, WI 54481
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Stevens Point. Enjoy our great amenities including great hot breakfast items, pool, whirlpool, new fitness center equipment and business center. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay will be relaxing and enjoyable. Our large suites offer microwaves and refrigerators. Located on Hwy 10, east of I-39/51. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
Holiday Inn Stevens Point
Stevens Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing