We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward.”
Review of @1800 - CLOSED

@1800
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awkward.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place is catering to the high mucky mucks who basically work at Sentry Insurance.
First... it's awkward to find, then awkward to park and get into the restaurant itself.
The place is dim, dark and the black decor is supposed to make a person think of big city New York nightlife.
They push the booze because the food servings are tiny and pricey. The view is ok and the decor is semi attractive to a person who likes the dark dark black designs.
The bathrooms are big but dated.
Service wasn't the best but not the worst.
Limited hours make this a "I came and I saw, now let's go somewhere else" stop.
I have eaten here 3 times but only because someone else insisted.
This is NO place for kids.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant and classy”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The food is quite interesting and unique. The service was impeccable and the setting is beautiful. They boast quite a large wine cellar. We hadthe bison which was very good and the portion size was just right and a fish special. And try the cheesecake with chai -- wonderful.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycgirl162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Big City Feel”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This restaurant makes you feel like you're dining in Chicago or New York City. The menu is unique & the setting is enchanting. During the summer there is the option of dining out on the patio. The view is wonderful, the food is great. Or, you can go & just have a few drinks & relax at the bar. They do have jazz bands that play occasionally. If you want to escape the every day "same old, same old", then you should check out this place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2SlipperyEels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The food is excellent< and the wine list is even better. We love to go there> Enjoy!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goneinaheartbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Restaurant in Stevens Point”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My family and I enjoy @1800 several times each year. We look forward to each experience. The menu changes periodically offering us the opportunity to try new, tantalizing dishes. Every meal has always been exquisite in presentation and taste. We often enjoy the flat bread special of the day and end the meal with a wonderful dessert. Food portions are large enough to provide leftovers for the next day. The atmosphere of the restaurant is cozy and warm, and the wait staff is friendly and courteous. The busers make sure empty dishes are removed promptly and water glasses are always full. The cost of the meal is not cheap, but then that is not why we frequent the restaurant. We come here for the quality of the food, the delightful waitstaff, and the intimate atmosphere. The price for dinner is not much different from the other fine restaurant establishments in the area. I highly recommend @1800.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodEnthusiast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed @1800 also viewed

 
Stevens Point, WI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing