We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a dump!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Point Motel

Point Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Point Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Stacyy01
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This place is a dump!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The owners are vey difficult to communicate with, they speak very broken english. We had 8 rooms all together, toilet didn't work in one, ac didn't work in another, shower didn't work in another, plumbing was bad in another, beds we're hard, bedding was dirty and stained, they did not provide hair dryers , irons, or toiletries. they did not stock for the continental breakfast. You could hear people walking in the room above. I was waiting for someone to fall through the floor. The rooms were about $50. 00 each. I have stayed at nice hotels for $50.00 a night. I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacyy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

For the price you cant beat this place. Its clean, my room had a micro/fridge combo in the room. Bed was comfy. I stayed for 3 days the front desk was helpful in guiding me around Stevens Point. Point Motel has a great location. Its located near many new restaurants and attractions as well as the local university. (UWSP) Overall great stay.

Room Tip: I had a two double bed room. The room was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Cons: Many items in the room were not maintained or functional-- security chain was broken, nightstand was screwed into wall and it was leaning so much I was afraid the lamp was going to slide off, screen door would not shut properly, & glass on screen door could not be moved to cover the screen (it was November and cold outside).
Pros: they do allow dogs (for extra $6), have a microwave, small frig, and coffee maker.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UpNorthWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Much less esxpensive than chain hotels, room was clean, $48 for 2 people for a night. It is not fancy, the decor is old, but clean. Someone commented about the security chains being attached to the door frame, which is true, the safety chain was silly, but the doorklnob locks and there is a deadbolt. Its stevens point! Walking distance from toppers and a $7 cab ride from downtown.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisschieviousAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
409 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

I really wanted this to be a nice old style motel... but, it wasn't - could be but the owners are not investing money or time in the place. It is Indian run and the smell of curry will hit you the minute you step in the lobby. I almost left, but I had to see if the rooms were nice. yet, they were not great and the motel is kind of run down. Too bad. I would not recommend staying here unfortnately. PS: I left in an hour and didn't even request a refund.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peru
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Location is the best if you need to be close to the UWSP, all kind of restaurants and shops are nearby, just 2 to10 min walking. Rooms are well equiped and they are pretty clean, they are just a bit old and poorly maintained. Breakfast is orange juice(bottled), milk and flakes, white bread, light coffee, butter and jelly, you may need to ask owners to put more stuff if they run out of something. It is very important to make clear prices before you check in, otherwise owner may charge as much as he can. Before I arrived they told me it was $38 a night for a single room, for my dates (by email). When I arrived they charge $50 the 1st night, because I said I didnt know how long I was staying. Next day I told him I was staying 5 more days and he charged $40 a day, next days. Owner said $38 was past season rate, but then I heard he offered $39 a day to another guest. So it was really confusing and I felt they took advantage of me, because I didnt have the message with the offered price printed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tib g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasau, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

I went there a a couple of months ago. I chose the place because because it was close to where my conference was. And I really liked it. The service is good, the room was clean, and yeah, the cleaning maid is a really friendly woman - you'll enjoy talking to her. The bed was comfortable, I got a good night's sleep before my conference the next morning. All these for $39. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stevens Point hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Stevens Point
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stevens Point
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 13 in Stevens Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Stevens...
#11 of 13 in Stevens Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
#9 of 13 in Stevens Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Motel

Property: Point Motel
Address: 209 Division St, Stevens Point, WI 54481-1833
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Point Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing