We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere”

The Silver Star Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Silver Star Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Spring Green B&B and Inns
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year I don't think I would recommend it to anyone. First of all it wasn't up to my cleanliness standards. There were bugs everywhere and it just seemed weathered and poorly taken care of. However I would have overlooked all of this but the part of staying here that left the worst taste in my mouth was the owner. The first night she was tremendously talkative and kind, but the next morning and for the rest of our trip she was odd and almost rude. She wasn't very talkative and gave really short answers when we asked questions. It was almost as if she was an entirely different person... like she was MAD at us for some reason. Even my husband, who normally doesn't notice these things, commented on how odd it was. I guess I just feel that when you are an owner of a B&B, hospitality is the first and most important aspect of your business, otherwise people would just choose a hotel.

However one of the benefits of staying here is the nighttime - due to being out in the middle of nowhere it really is the best star-gazing we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 5uck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Troy, WI
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Silver Star is a beautiful inn in a wonderful location, close to some of Wisconsin's treasures: outdoor recreation, the American Players Theatre, Taliesin, the House on the Rock, the Spring Green Preserve...the list goes on. Although the inn is remotely located, it is within comfortable driving distance to all. The inn itself is a log structure, nicely appointed and at night, fairly quiet.

We stayed one night only in early May, 2013 (two nights are required on weekends in "high season"). We were met by the innkeeper, who was very pleasant and accommodating. Our room was clean and spacious (#9) with access to an outside deck.

On the "plus" side: good breakfast, all the above-mentioned positive comments and the natural beauty of one of Wisconsin's most beautiful areas.

On the "minus" side, we have some comments. 1. A bed and breakfast makes two promises; the bed did not meet our hopes. The mattress was very hard, not firm. Also, a king-size bed would have been more comfortable. 2. We are early risers and communicated this to the innkeeper, so it would have been nice to have coffee at the ready earlier than 7:15 a.m. 3. Be careful of the hot water: it is scalding if one is not careful.

Despite our criticism, we would love to, and will come back. It is a beautiful inn. Oh, by the way, if you stay at Silver Star, bring your checkbook to pay for your room...an extra 3% is charged for payment by credit card, which is understandable but hidden in the website.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassplayer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the inn for two nights in the middle of September for an American Players Theatre show. At first, I was a little disappointed that we were staying a bit out of town but quickly fell at ease while driving there on the narrow, winding roads through the hills and under canopies of trees that were beginning to change their colors.

Jean was friendly and very accommodating. She offered to store our food in the fridge and put our ice pack for our cooler in her kitchen cooler. One of the mornings, we had overslept and missed breakfast that was served from 8-9am. Jean offered to still serve us breakfast, which was peaches and cream french toast with fresh fruit and it was delicious!

The bed was very comfortable and we had hot water for our showers. The only issues I had with the room were minor, such as the only towel rack being mounted on the wall across from the sink in a quite large bathroom, which seemed a little awkward . Also, the only mirror in the room was the smallish mirror over the bathroom sink.

The inn's website puts a bit of focus on the fine photographs displayed throughout the property. I found the photo (or painting?) of a mother and child mounted above the head of our bed to be slightly eerie though. The child's facial expression was a bit odd and it actually creeped me out a little seeing it looking over our bed!

All in all, we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend with extended family for a nearby wedding. The setting is lovely, gardens kept up and we found the service and food excellent. One family had little ones and we had one disabled family member and all had excellent accommodations. Will go back again for a quiet time away, watching hummingbirds, hiking and reading on the porch. Also area attractions - House on the Rock and the Amer. Players Theater. Book store and gift shops in Spring Green, with wonderful old style restaurant. Pottery and art in Mineral Point.
Info: no TV or hair dryers in room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

It was a fablous weekend in October, when we turned on the driveway- I noticed the large and "weathered"sign- maybe a starter for the state of the inn. The front lock didn't work properly- (follow the hand written instructions to get inside). The front yard would have been fablous with a little attention- losts of weeds-

since I had been part of a General Contracting firm I did notice things that maybe others would not have- like the slopping floor from bed to bathroom- this was NOT an old house made into a B&B, but designed for a B&B and not that old! The lovely porch was in need of repair- and the back steps were treacherous if used- great need on paint and some strong replacement wood! Needs paint and soap! ... and yes flys(many) in our room.

The lock on our bedroom door was a joke- had to use the key to be locked and could tell had been that way for a while-

Food was adequate-nothing to rave about- usually,I come back with recipes to share- no need to ask for these.

Will not be on our place to return for another visit. Another pair left after only one night...

Room Tip: corner room for cross ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Virg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Inn for a wedding we were attending near Spring Green. The setting is gorgeous - tucked away in a small valley. Our corner room was small but nice, and it was good for cooling off the room. I don't think they use the air conditioning too much (which I think is better than keeping the place freezing cold). The breakfasts are works of art, with ongoing entertainment by the hummingbirds on the porch outside! Owners are nice. Many of the other travelers seemed to be there for the nearby American Players Theatre. It is a bit off the beaten path and our cells phones and GPS didn't work as we got close to the Inn -- challenging at night as there are no street lights and limited street signs in the area. I do agree with the one review that most B&Bs we have stayed in always had some food/water/coffee/tea available for guests. Did not happen here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms will probably provide more a a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at Silver Star twice in 2009 and once more in August 2011. We have always been delighted. Jean is a wonderful hostess and breakfasts are large, beautiful, and filled with seasonal veggies and fruits. Rooms range from large to small, and are priced accordingly. This time we were in the smallest room and it was fine considering we were only there to sleep. Beds are comfortable. Silver Star is tucked away in the woods, but close enough to Spring Green or Dodgeville (10 miles either way) to allow easy access for restaurants, galleries, etc. Public areas of Silver Star are large and can sometimes be used for receptions or banquets. There is a total of 10 rooms, and two are ADA accessible. In warm weather, breakfast on the porch with the hummingbirds is delightful. Get a corner room with cross ventilation in case the central AC is not turned on. A fan is provided in the room, and it helps, especially if you have a corner room. Hosts are happy to make restaurant recommendations, and the local restaurants ask if you are going to the theater that night so they know when to serve you. Recommended sights in the area are American Players Theatre (beautiful plays set in an amphitheater in the woods), Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, and The House on the Rock. About 15 miles away is Mineral Point with artist galleries, potters, and a wonderfully restored mansion, Orchard Lawn. If all else fails, you are only 45 minutes from Madison for nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with cross-ventilation. Hot and muggy weather can be an issue in mid-summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoBurnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
8.9 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
290 reviews
7.9 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
123 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
14.7 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
143 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Star Bed and Breakfast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Star Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Property: The Silver Star Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Address: 3852 Limmex Hill Rd, Spring Green, WI 53588-8981
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Star B&B Inn can be described as elegant but casual and is without a doubt interesting and out of the ordinary. Located on a private 20 acre estate, it is perfect for a quiet getaway, intimate wedding, reunions, retreats, or to simply connect with nature. The inn is located only a few minutes from major area attractions such as Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, American Players Theatre, House on the Rock, Governor Dodge State Park, and river canoeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Spring Green
Spring Green Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing