We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly impressed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The House on the Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly impressed”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My husband and I took a quick weekend getaway at the House on the Rock Resort. The room was clean with a nice view over the golf course. We had dinner and lunch at the restaurant and thought the food and service were great. We went to the spa for a facial and massage and the quality and atmosphere were excellent. We will definitely go back for a longer weekend and perhaps to see a play. We have busy lives and like to escape to just relax, so this was perfect. We also liked how everything was connected and we could just walk within the hotel for meals, the spa, pool and exercise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAB045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    72
    33
    28
    11
See reviews for
53
96
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed at the Resort for two nights in October, 2009, so we were treated to a beautiful Fall show of colors overlooking the well-manicured golf course. If it weren't for mother nature however, this would have been a small disappointment. If you're used to staying at the more modern spacious resorts you will find this to be very dated but acceptable (even the televisions were old Magnavox boxes). Golfers will like it but there's not much more nearby. Maybe appropriate for a couples' retreat where the object is solitude.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwest4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The setting of this hotel and architecture are wonderful. These features alone make it difficult to say something bad about the hotel. Yes, the furnishing are dated and honestly the whole place needs to be remodeled. The pool area is very nice and appears to have been recently redone. I can't speak about the restaurant because we did not eat in the hotel.

Our biggest problem with the hotel was their inability to offer a clean hotel room. At the price we paid one would not expect to have to worry about such issues. We checked in and inspected our bathroom -only to find 3 used washcloths from the previous person, and a very dirty bathroom floor with footprints and hair from the last person. Our shower/bath was full of mildew and the shower was broken. The carpet was very worn and had obviously not been vacuumed in a very long time. We found popcorn, broken Doritos, watermeleon seeds, an open safety pin etc., not to forget dirt and grass. The glass door to the patio had not been cleaned in a very long time - nor had the bugs from the carpet plate. Bedding was clean - but had yellow tinges rather than white. Bedspreads were ready to be retired. They may have been clean - but the stains could lead you to believe a different story. The topper was in turning over 2 of the 4 coffee cups left in the room to find one full of nacho cheese and the other one full of hot chocolate. Yum.

Management was very helpful and willing to let us change rooms. They gave us keys to other rooms to find one we liked. Only problem, however, was that the carpets and baths were just as "unmanaged" as in the room we were in. So the standard of cleanliness became very clear to us. Such a shame.....

Again - a beautiful hotel that really needs to get its act together and start managing the rooms. Get someone in there who can manage housekeeping and maintenance. Given a rennovation we'd be back in a heartbeat - simply because we love the setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Great place to stay. Rooms very clean and quiet. Loved the balcony overlooking the Golf course.Ver relaxing. Loved the pool although water was cool. The only bad thing was the Restaraunt was very pricey. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harlenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Very nice resort. On the upscale side, especially for this rural area. Good value for the money. The rooms were great. I liked the Frank Lloyd Wright design of the room and furnishings. Hotel was very well maintained and clean. The restaurant was quiet, great view of golf course, good food and good service. It was not at all crowded the nights (2) we were there. It was really quite pleasant. Restaurant and bar, lobby etc and resort itself were all done in Frank Lloyd Wright type design. Taliesen (enjoyed our tour) was less than a mile away and the resort is just a few miles from town. House on the Rock (interesting and entertaining in a strange sort of way) was about seven miles away. The reviews I read online before booking were mixed--but my wife and I were pleasantly surprised with how nice it was. We wished we could have stayed longer. We would like to go back sometime with friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100DollarBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I recently stayed at The House on the Rock Resort for an overnight meeting of our firm. Although clean, the rooms are dated. Our meeting room for 10 was small for 8, and the food service was marginal. The most disappointing part was the restaurant. To get a meal off site, you have to get in your car and travel for 10 minutes to Spring Green. It is worth the trip, because the restaurant's food and service is atrocious. The vegetables were over-cooked, my medium-rare steak was well done, and all of the salmon orders were bone dry from overcooking. We had to ask three times for our wine order. Those are only the highlights of the low lights. Don't bother.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at the House on the Rock Resort and were very pleasantly surprised. We had booked a package through the American Players Theater (just down the road) and I had read the previous reviews with some trepidation. Instead of peeling wallpaper, however, our room/suite looked freshly painted and very clean. King-sized bed was comfortable and we had a nice view from the balcony over the golf course (all rooms do), and if golf is not your thing there are an indoor and outdoor pool and jacuzzis, as well as hiking trails in the woods skirting the property. It's off the road and completely quiet at night. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. All rooms are two-room suites plus bath and include a fridge and microwave (though no utensils), It's very close to the American Players Theater and the Frank Lloyd Wright information Center for Taliesen, making it ideal for visits to these attractions. We would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet, beautiful surroundings, proximity to American Players Theater
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
2.2 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
283 reviews
4.1 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#3 of 6 in Spring Green
117 reviews
19.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
11.3 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
143 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Rock Resort

Property: The House on the Rock Resort
Address: 400 Springs Dr, Spring Green, WI 53588-9000
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
The House On The Rock Hotel Spring Green
Hotel On The Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing