We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The House on the Rock Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Spring Green
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Spring Valley Inn(Spring Green)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Green Motel(Spring Green)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Round Barn Lodge(Spring Green)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Q Inn(Dodgeville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
64
75
37
31
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
75
37
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courserock resortoutdoor poolseparate bedroomking suitepackage dealtennis courtsspring greensa nice place to stayfrank lloyd wrighthot tubsmall kitchenetteamerican players theatrerolling hillssmall townbeautiful groundshouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 220 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The area is very beautiful, the resort is located in a beautiful part of the state. The golf course looks nice and our patio overlooked it, which was very nice. The resort and rooms were soooo outdated, furniture circa early 1980's, big bulky tvs, no flat screens, no wifi except in one small part of the hotel in a room near the front desk. The room itself was large, but had so many doors and such a goofy layout. The resort could use a total overhaul. It could be a great destination if they got a decent chef, rehab'd the rooms and made it an attraction worth coming to. The grounds were not well kept, the flower beds and landscape were overgrown. The outdoor pool and hot tub area was a joke with about 8 lawn chairs total. The work out room had equipment and posters from the 70's and 80's. And far too expensive for what you get. We paid significantly less for the Trump hotel in Vegas and got far more than the dumpy hotel in Spring Green. Some investor should come overhaul the place, they'd have a gold mine in the end!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor to get the nicest views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank letsgogirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived late on Wed., June 12, 2013 and it took 15 minutes to check in. Inefficient clerk.
Room was OK, but definitely too expensive for what you received. We would not stay there again.






















We arrived late on Wed., June 12. We were very tired and it was very exhausting waiting to be checked in. It took 15 minutes to check in. The staff person was very inefficient. The price of the room was very expensive for what was available to us. The room was clean, but again not worth the price. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank beachlady44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our check in process was smooth - every staff person we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. The suite was spacious and well appointed - definitely a Frank Lloyd Wright feel to the decor. We enjoyed an evening glass of wine on the balcony until it got too chilly! Wish I'd brought my swimsuit - the pool looked so appealing, but we were only there overnight.

Room Tip: 4th floor balcony had a good view and too high for most mosquitos! (very wet spring this year!)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustLinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were only staying at the HOTR Resort for a single evening, but we packed a lot of experiences into it. The check-in process was quick and easy and, after the front desk staff made a reservation for us at the restaurant, we were soon settling into our room. The room was a great size with a separate bedroom and living area and a small kitchenette with microwave, sink and fridge. We were able to borrow a golf cart from the pro shop and take a tour of the golf course and enjoy the scenery in this wonderful location. We then dined in the on-site restaurant. The food was great, the atmosphere was nice, and the prices were decent considering the meal we had. It was a Saturday night on a long weekend but the restaurant wasn't busy at all. Afterwards we enjoyed a soak in the hottub and then retreated to our room with its comfortable bed.

The next day we had to get on the road but not before heading downstairs to enjoy the breakfast buffet. It featured some of the best biscuits and gravy I've ever had. Again, the price was reasonable considering the quality and amount of food.

I'd have no qualms about staying here again, but next time we'll plan for a full weekend so we can fully enjoy everything this location has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanOCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Private balcony/terrace, comfy spacious two room suites, all surrounded by beautiful trees and golf course make this an excellent choice when in southwestern Wisconsin. All the amenities of a resort are available. Breakfast was quite good in a Frank Lloyd Wright influenced restaurant. The desk staff is very helpful and friendly. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for specials which may include tickets to The House on the Rock attraction.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dekalbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews