We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, the rest not so fantastic..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The House on the Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Fantastic location, great architecture. Need complete renovation of rooms. Poor access to internet, no mobile phone coverage. Extremely slow restaurant. Management lack completely focus on service. But still, the location makes you foregive a lot, but then probably not that much...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

Lovely grounds, comfortable room and close by the American Players Theatre. We've tried a number of places and this is the only choice for us. The rooms could use a bit of updating but they are all suites with views of the gold course and the surrounding countryside. The restaurant service and food is the only downside. We avoid eating there. We'd rather go into town or have a picnic.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paprikaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We have stayed many times for couples golf weekends. Great 27 holes. Beautiful views of the course and situated in a quiet valley. Learned long ago to go into town for dinner. Recommend Heinies and Rookies.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upwith_olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed here for a wedding. The room was clean and very quiet so easy to sleep in. The view from our 4 person room balcony was great. The room decor was outdated, the 80s. I had an unfriendly receptionist once on the phone, but other than that random event, the service was friendly. It was a good deal for what we got. Nice place to walk, hike, or run. The golf course on the resort is nice as well. Breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldineinIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

It's difficult to make a decision from internet pictures and reviews but this hotel is a gem. It's located in a beautiful setting in southwestern Wisconsin and is a perfect location if you're touring Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin or the House on the Rock. The hotel room was comfortable and clean but could use some updating. The bed was not Hilton quality but comfortable nonetheless. We were there in early October which must be low season because we were one of very few quests staying. Our second story room balcony opened up to a beautiful view of the golf course. The last morning there was a setting of fog and frost. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant because we felt it was minimally staffed for the season.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nacho52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My daughter and I recently stay here because we had tickets to the American Players Theatre. We had a ground floor suite with our own patio. We had a lovely view of the golf course and were able to enjoy sitting out on the patio. The table on the patio, however, had not been cleaned and there appeared to be remnants of food on it. The suite was spacious with one larger room that had a kitchenette, table and chairs, and a queen sized bed. The kitchenette did not have any dishes, utensils, etc. in it. The other room/area had a bedroom with a queen sized bed and the bathroom. The bathroom was set up very strangely. The first area of the bathroom had a bathtub/shower and a dressing table and the second area had a toilet and sink. The two areas could be separated by a sliding door. It was a very poor design and would have been much better and the sink and dressing table been in the first area with the toilet and tub in the other area. The bars of soap in both areas were covered with some sort of wet residue and that residue and soaked onto the paper covering--gross!!!! There was also some shampoo/conditioner and lotion, but it was a generic brand. For the price that we paid and the fact that it was a resort, I would have thought they would have provided fresh soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower cap, etc. and that would have been a name brand. The entire suite was very outdated and needed updating badly! The bedding looked old. The sheets were wrinkled (though hopefully clean) and the mattresses were very old. A positive--no bedbugs! The carpeting appeared dirty. We ate dinner in the main dining room. The waiter was very attentive and professional, but the food was only mediocre. We did share a delicious dessert. The positive things about the resort were the close proximity to the theatre and Taliesan and the beautiful surroundings. I doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Boss does an annual golf trip for a little R&R as well as discuss business. This year, he decided to include spouses. Spouses were treated to massage, employees golfed and both ate dinner in their dining room. Package was about $260-80..a.room with golf for one partner and massage for other.
The room is large with kitchenette and separate living area facing golf course. The bedroom and bath are separate, like a small apartment. Thoughspotless, very out of date decor. When you enter the resort, it is like a blast from 1979! With mauve furnishings from the 80's. The spa included a massage. Some wanted a pedicure, but the same staff that does massage, does pedicure so they were understaffed...but some in the party preferred to instead get a pedicure with their spa rep instead of a massage and they wouldnt allow the switch. Only two of the three resort staff were actual therapists, so they could only provide relaxation style massages, very light stroking style. NOT what I call a true massage, so less then expected! Dinner service was terrible. It was obvious there was not enough staff to handle the large party. 1/2 of the large party received meals, the other waited...not 5min, not 10 min...almost 35min after the others completed their meals. The response was they didnt have enough staff. And later it was determined that a banquet in another room was served in between our party. All they simply had to do is offer free appetizers and a round of drinks and ask if the party could wait 30 minutes longer for their meal so they could be served together. Instead they opted to feed 1 side of the table...and not the other. Not the servers fault, mgmt fault for lack of coverage, but poor judgement on how to handle the issue. Indoor pool nice, but closed the second day we were there. Outdoor pool is in front of the resort across a quiet street. Hardly any lounge chairs. Small.All and all, would not recommend overnight at this resort..but golfing was very very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarateMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
2.3 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
325 reviews
4.1 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
126 reviews
11 mi away
Don Q Inn
Don Q Inn
#1 of 4 in Dodgeville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
19.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
21.2 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Rock Resort

Address: 400 Springs Dr, Spring Green, WI 53588-9000
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
The House On The Rock Hotel Spring Green
Hotel On The Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing