We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Yet Expensive -- and No Shampoo?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Green Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring Green Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Yet Expensive -- and No Shampoo?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second choice in Spring Green as my first wasn't available (there's not much choice in Spring Green). The other place I wanted has a pool and other amenities and I've stayed there before. Spring Green Motel has nice rooms, but the price is the same as the other place, which offers much more, like a pool and dining.

The room was small, clean and comfortable with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall. It had a fridge, microwave (yet small, low wattage) and a bar table with two stools (with sticky, never-been-cleaned foot rests). The motel offers a free breakfast of hard-boiled eggs, toast and cereal. Despite being on Hwy 14, the room was fairly quiet. Cell phone service by my carrier was unavailable even though there's a water tower loaded with cell antennas a half-mile away. Spring Green Motel does have WiFi so at least I could get email and get online.

One major complaint was they don't supply shampoo! I had to get some in the town, where there is a fine grocery store with liquor and deli.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuzzWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    48
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
65
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havre De Grace
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight so we could go to The House on the Rock the following day. Very nice landscaping and good for sitting outdoors chatting with friends. The room was rather small but it was just for one night only. The staff courteously replied to my emails when I chose to book a reservation. Thank you Spring Green Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dspMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,tx
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a great room at a reasonable price. The breakfast, which is included, is hearty. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern. Wifi is strong. The back of this place is beautifully landscaped, with tables that you can sit at in the evening and enjoy some wine and that Wisconsin cheese you picked up. If you don't eat it al,l the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves.

Room Tip: 1. When you drive into Spring Green, don't hesitate to get a room, they will likely not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a motel. The two most important things we look for are cleanliness and affordability. This motel satisfied those requirements and offered us much more...great breakfast, beautiful grounds, and friendly owners. A bit outdated, but who wants to spend time in the motel room when you have the lovely Wisconsin surroundings? We would certainly come back without a second thought.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear so you see the cornfields and gazebo and arbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKLAnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

On May 17, 2013 I stopped at the Spring Green Motel and made a resveration for Saturday July 27, 2013. I was quoted a rate of $70 plus taxes. When I checked in I inquired about the rate. I was told that it would be $ 95 plus tax. Since we were going to the American Players that evening, there was little choice but to take the room. I addressed this problem with the owner. He was positive that his clerk would not of quoted a rate of $ 70. He offered to refund my money knowing that there where no rooms available in the area. In fairness to the owner we split the difference.

I explained that we were customers for the past 6 years and was disappointed that he would honor the quoted rate. We will probably not stay there again For $95 we can get a better room In the area with more amenities.,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 53217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Driving by this motel you wouldn't be able to appreciate the joys of it. The motel looks like motels from fifty years ago and it is. But it is very clean and behind the motel is an oasis of waterfalls and flowers. If you are going to The House on the Rock or American Players, this place is perfect. Not the quietest, being directly on Hwy 14, but charming

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackandanntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wanted to be near The House on the Rock and this was one of the selections. What a nice, clean quiet place! The staff was wonderful from the reservation phone call,check in/out,directions and dining advice. The free breakfast was great, held in a nice,large clean room! Nothing cheesy about this place, just homey, comfy surroundings.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mels49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
1.4 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Quiet House & Suites
21.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Green Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Green Motel

Property: Spring Green Motel
Address: Highway 14 East, E5296B Highway 14, Spring Green, WI 53588
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Spring Green Hotel Spring Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing