We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”

Spring Green General Store
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: International, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Our store is open Monday- Saturday 8am to 5pm, Sundays 8am-4pm. The Kitchen is open 8am-3pm 7 days a week. Come sit on our front porch, eat with us, shop with us or get some water for your dog. Our cafe features old school 'comfort food" with a creative twist including vegetarian options, excellent coffees and micro-brews. Our retail store offers an inspired selection of women's clothing, jewelry & accessories and a one of a kind gift shop experience all in a 1910 converted cheese warehouse. We take pride in our diverse selection of gifts and friendly customer service.
portage wi
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Any time I'm in Spring Green, this is a must stop for lunch as well as to browse their gift store. it can be busy, especially in the summer, so get their a bit before noon or after 1:00 if you don't want to wait. They always have an interesting selection of foods so just take a chance. The atmosphere is friendly and casual and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    52
    24
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian chili”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch. Service is a bit slow, but pleasant spot if you're out meandering. But the chili was worth the wait and might make a vegetarian out of a hard nosed carnivore!

Helpful?
Thank KnitCatFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had breakfast two mornings at The General Store! We loved the food and relaxed atmosphere. The menu on the weekend is quite extensive and scaled back on weekdays. The food was good "home cooking", plentiful, flavorful and enjoyable. The best part about this place is the owner, Karin. She is an amazing host who spent a lot of time with us acquainting us with the area and giving us tips on things to do. The "store" is adorable -- great woven items, clothing, wood work and the like.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
“Super Quaint and Friendly”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is not just a General Store. Stop by for live music and a cafe! Get there early on these special occasions if you want a seat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True general store and more.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A must see in Spring Green WI. So much fun merchandise, a restaurant (did not go to), good cheeses, interesting clothing, and more. Find it here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Nancy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Green General Store also viewed

 
Spring Green, WI
 

Been to Spring Green General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing