We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful and Quiet Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spring Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Quiet Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at the Spring Valley Inn in May 2014. The inn was so quiet and in a beautiful location. The room was spacious and very nice. It is a very easy drive from the inn to tour Taliesin or House on the Rock. The breakfast was also very good. The staff were very helpful and even gave us a smaller bag of ice for our cooler when we checked out the next day. I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Spring Green. I will definitely stay here again if I am ever in the area.

Room Tip: My room was facing the back of the inn, but I think a room in any location here will be a quiet one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magiccode12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    88
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
63
128
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We came to Spring Green for 3 days mainly to see Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin and to have a mid-week mini-vacation in September. I checked reviews for local hotels/motor inns and was most interested in value for the money as well as location. We found it all at this motor inn that was originally built to house the Wright Foundation offices. The main building was designed by architects trained in the Wright style. For $89 a night, we had a clean, decently-appointed room furnished in the Wright style. The best part was the friendly conversation during the included breakfast each day. We learned from other guests about additional attractions such as the American Players Theater (very positive) and the House on the Rock (mixed). We were there at the same time as a touring group of antique car owners and heard a little about their adventures as well as recommendations for local restaurants and scenic drives and cheese factories to visit. We plan to return next year with friends and go to an APT play. We will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Napermab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Spring Valley Inn recently after seeing an evening APT performance. It was very clean and comfortable, and certainly beat driving home late at night. The breakfast was not very appealing, but the swimming pool was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The place is very clean and fits the FLW area. Tucked away a bit so if you are arriving at night you need to see where to go. Breakfast was ok - the usual you might find at any place. If they would replace the comforters it would greatly update the rooms. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDakGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this "motel" for a few nights based on the reviews. The reviews "rang true" and we were actually please to get what we expected. Think retro 1960's motor inn BUT with super friendly service, a beautiful location and great pool/spa area. We chose not to partake in the "breakfast", (the breakfast doesn't meet the "hot breakfast" description) but coffee was available and was "ok". The room was dated, but very clean! So if you're expectations aren't too high and you like savoring some "old school" charm, this is a great spot!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
990 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Like others, we got lost very late at night coming here from Chicago via Madison, WI and our GPS took us south of Madison instead of the northern route on Route 14 and it took forever to drive across the windy, country, very dark roads to find the Spring Valley Inn. We called the hotel for help as on their email address, they say they are in the town of Arena, but in fact they are in Spring Green. The young man on reception duty was pleasant enough but totally unable to help us find the correct route. Since there are only three roads that lead to Spring Green, and other people on TA have gotten lost too, you would think they might be able to help travelers a little better. I ended up solving the problem myself by putting in Spring Green as the town instead of Arena into my GPS and we found it eventually but if you are coming from Madison, stay on route 14 straight to the hotel. It solves the issue. Moving along, the hotel does have a nice fire pit that they light in the evenings as others have mentioned and we did enjoy that feature and met some very nice other travelers and enjoyed chatting with them. We are huge Frank Lloyd Wright fans and enjoyed the posters in the hallway and the bedroom. The furniture is ok, but we did trip a few times on the wood box frames which stick out beyond the mattress so just be careful. The TV's are old (not flat screen) and the cable was out both the nights/days we stayed there. The management kept trying to fix it but it just wouldn't work which was disappointing. We asked them for a discount at check out and got a $25 discount so at least they made an effort. On the bright side, the wifi worked perfectly. The breakfast was ok, there are eggs and lots of carbs, all of which were nice and the coffee was good, but no fruit at all which I found a little surprising in this day and age when so many folks want fruit for breakfast. A basket of apples, oranges, or even some bananas would have been a nice addition. They do have a fabulous pool/spa but sadly we did not have time to use it. It is very conveniently located to the village of Spring Green and the House on the Rock (highly recommended) and FLLW's Taliesen (highly recommended) so the convenience factor and decent rates made us pleased with our stay but not overwhelmed. We did not get a chance to try out the restaurant for dinner so can't comment on the evening food although we met the chef (son of the owners) who was a nice guy! Having ice readily available in small bags was handy and you could buy water/soda in reception which was useful too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Spring Valley Inn in September of this year in a one queen bed room. Appearance of the Inn from the outside is very favorable. The public accommodations are nice, and breakfast is good.
Now for the room. Not great at all. It was somewhat tight, and very dated. The carpet needed to be replaced. The AC was very noisy.

I looked in the two queen bed rooms, and the carpet appeared different - not sure if they just haven't gotten around to replacing the carpet in the smaller rooms yet.

Room Tip: I would opt for the larger room (bigger price) next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
3.8 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Quiet House & Suites
19.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
21.6 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Valley Inn

Property: Spring Valley Inn
Address: 6279 County Highway C, Spring Green, WI 53588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spring Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Valley Inn has 35 guest rooms, located on 12 acres of wooded prairie. The property features the area's largest indoor pool, steam room, sauna, whirlpool, exercise room and locker room facilities. Pat's Place has a fountain patio surrounding a stone fire pit and serves a continental cuisine. There is seating in our meeting and banquet facilities for 200. Spring Valley Inn is located close to Taliesin, American Players Theater, House on the Rock, the Wisconsin River, Governor Dodge and Tower Hill State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Spring Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Valley Hotel Spring Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing